This is the "Databases" page of the "Business and Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business and Economics   Tags: accounting, business, company, data, economics, management, market_research  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/Business Print Guide

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Investment

  • Value Line Research Center
    Stock and mutual fund reports include financial or performance data, forecasts and Value Line Rankings. Analyst commentaries are included for the Investment Survey. Research Center also covers daily options, convertivles and exchange traded funds. Ability to screen data, produce graphs, track portfolios and create charts.
  • Morningstar Library Edition
    An investment database for stocks and mutual funds.

Accounting & Tax

Marketing Research

  • eMarketer  
      
    eMarketer provides the information on trends and developments in online marketing and emerging media.
  • Forrester : marketing leadership Forrester research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. For access to this database, contact Karen Gilles kgilles@seattleu.edu
  • Passport GMID  
      
    Formerly Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    The GMID contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers for over 350 markets and 207 countries.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    US and global full-text market research reports covering consumer goods, technology/media and demographics, and industrial markets.
  • Market Research Reporter
    Market Share Reporter information typically includes sizes of the market, a per centage breakdown of market share, source information and SIC/NAICS codes for over 2000 entries. Access to five years annual data for trends comparison
  • SimplyMap  
      
    Intenet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variable. This includes data from Nielsen Claritas and Simmons Data.

    For additional info see Simply Map Getting Started Guide(pdf).

Data

See also the Libguide: Business & Economics Statistics and Data Sources for additional sources.

  • World Databank. World Development Indicators/Global Finance
    Newly opened as a freely accessible database includes the WDI and Global Finance. Online version provides direct access to more than 700 development indicators, with time series for 210 countries and 18 country groups from 1960+ Time series include balance of payments, development framework, environment, exchange rates & prices, external debt, financial statistics, government finance, national accounts, social indicators, and trade. More datasets http://data.worldbank.org/data-catalog
  • UN Data
    There are 14 databases and 6 glossaries containing over 55 million data points and covering a whole range of statistics including Population, Industry, Energy, Trade and National Accounts
  • SimplyMap  
      
    Intenet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variable. This includes data from Nielsen Claritas and Simmons Data.

    For additional info see Simply Map Getting Started Guide(pdf).
  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
    The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
  • Census Bureau. Business & Industry
    Links to ECONOMIC Census; Economic Indicators
  • Census Explorer
    Simple, easy-to-use graphical GIS tool for retrieving basic demographic data by tract, county, or state.Census Explorer provides 11 types of demographic data, taken from the 1990 and 2000 Decennial Censuses and the 2012 (five-year) American Community Survey, plus six types of business data taken from the 2000 and 2011 County Business Patterns. There is a link to American Factfinder to download data.
  • Federal Reserve Economic Data
    Download, graph, and track
    237,000 US and international time series from 68 sources.
 

Where to Start

To do quality business research use our licensed database and both credible open internet sources. All of these will  provide information  to analyze a company or industry, find trends, identify competitors and more.The databases will not only support your current coursework but give you experience in using information searching skills and tools often used in the business environment.

We are here to help!   Databases will focus on a certain time of information such as industry or financials. Others will contain data or be aggregators of articles and all have different interfaces. The landscape for this source material is evolving.  Be sure to ask for help in navigating these sources.

~Karen

General & Scholarly Articles; Trade & News Publications

For Scholarly articles, start with Business Source Complete, EconLit or any of the Interdisciplinary databases. For Trade publications, ABI Inform Trade and Industry provides coverage.  ABI's Trade and Industry umbrella database Proquest Research also contains management titles and scholarly journals.  Check each database vendor for special features: search capabilities, date ranges, and scope of coveragel

  • Business Source Complete
    Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  
      
    Full text articles from business trade journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information. Use this source for law reviews and cases
  • EconLit with Full Text  
      
    Covering the world’s economic literature, this basic research tool provides citations and abstracts and limited full text in all fields of economics.
  • Wall Street Journal
    Fulltext coverage of the national and international leading financial newspaper
  • Seattle Times (Newsbank : Jan. 1, 1985 - present)
    Full text.
  • Puget Sound Business Journal
    Use the search feature to find open access articles on local firms and nonprofits. Premium content is restricted to subscribers. Check the library's weekly print edition on the 5th floor for full articles from this publication. Publisher of the PSBJ annual BOOK of LISTS.HF5065.W2 P84 shelved in the Reference area on the 2nd fl
  • Regional business news
    Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Company& Industry/Financial

For more information, check the following LibGuides: Business: Company Information,  Business: Industry Information and the Tutorial for Business Research. Company/financial databases provide useful pictures of a companies operations - including comparative financial data for top competitors and general industry information. Typically an industry report will cover industry conditions, competitive landscape, market share and outlook.  Each of the industry databases has a different focus. Although there may be some overlap, consider looking at more than one source.

 

  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Contains public and private company and industry information on 3 million companies worldwide.
  • Mint Global
    Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data via two separate interfaces. The Mint global interface has been specifically designed for end user access.
  • Orbis
    The ORBIS database covers financial information for companies worldwide. Strong coverage of Europe and Asian firms as well as information on significant private companies. This database has been created with a sophisticated interface for advanced searchers. To search the same database using basic, end user friendly searching go to Mint Global.
  • Key Business Ratios (Dun and Bradstreet)
    Covers solvency, efficiency, and profitability of public and private companies, broken down by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code. Provides 14 financial ratios for 800 products and services.
  • Passport GMID  
      
    Formerly Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    The GMID contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers for over 350 markets and 207 countries.
  • Standard & Poors Net Advantage  
      
    A comprehensive financial database which is a gateway for industry analysis, investment research and company information. In addition to the Industry Surveys, this online investor information database also contains S&P's Corporation Records, Stock Guide, Stock Reports, Bond Guide, Dividend Record, Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, Earnings Guide and The Outlook.
  • First Research
    First Research (Dun & Bradstreet’s/Hoovers) reports covering over 300 industry segments. Updated quarterly, each First Research profile (via Proquest ABI/Inform) is a 10-15 page analysis of trends, opportunities, industry benchmarks for small company data (including ratios). statistics and forecasts.
  • IBISWorld
    A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research Reports.Tabs include industry outlook, competitive landscape, operating conditions, major companies and key statistics. Key statistics can include selected industry ratios.
  • IBISWorld China Industry reports
    IBISWorld provides independent, consistent, comprehensive, accurate and up to date research on a wide range of industries in China and a host of other business factors.Tabs include industry outlook, competitive landscape, operating conditions, major companies and key statistics. Key statistics can include selected industry ratios.
  • Foundation Directory Online Professional
    For grantseekers, current information on grantmakers and their grants. Database provides access to over 250,000 990s, 80,000 grants as well as news, requests for proposals, key staff affiliations, printable color charts illustrating grant distributions, and more. (Seattle U's licensing agreement for this database allows for use by the general public. Guests may access the content using designated computers on the second floor.)

Directories

Create a list of companies based on size, industry or sales,

  • Reference USA
    Directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 102 million U.S. households, with detailed financial information for publicly traded companies searchable by name, business activity, size and location. (Link to the database "One Source Global Business Browser" through Reference USA's "International Businesses" link.)
  • Kompass
    International directory of producers, distributors, service providers, exporters, importers, etc.. Basic profiles available on the free version
  • ThomasNet@
    Provides a list of American manufacturers, their major products, and contact information. May also be usedl to locate competitors and their products.
  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Contains public and private company and industry information on 3 million companies worldwide.
  • Mint Global
    Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data via two separate interfaces. The Mint global interface has been specifically designed for end user access.

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226 RM 277
Send Email
 

Get Research Help!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

Use eBooks for Information Systems

Interdisciplinary Databases

You can also search these general databases for articles in business and economics.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Search over 7000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6000 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
  • JSTOR
    Search scholarly journals for articles in the areas of business, economics, education, history, psychology, religion, science and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip