Start here for databases, journals and web sites in business ethics
Last Updated: Jun 25, 2015
Welcome! Welcome to the research guide on business ethics. This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for information and research on this topic. For more in depth help, please don't hesitate to contact me through my email. Comments and suggestions are encouraged!
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Full text articles from business trade journals.
- Business Source Complete
Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
- LexisNexis Academic
Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
- Philosopher's Index
Provides citations and abstracts of articles and books in the fields of philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, and logic.
- Wall Street Journal
Fulltext coverage of the national and international leading financial newspaper
- Albers Business Ethics Initiative
The Albers Business Ethics Initiative is a three-year program designed to help businesses, nonprofits, and government as they build more ethical and efficient organizations. The ABEI is directed by Dr. John W. Dienhart, the Frank Shrontz Chair for Business Ethics at Seattle University.
The goals of the ABEI are:
To implement the Frank Shrontz Lecture and Workshop Series on Business Ethics.
To support the Northwest Ethics Network, a group of ethics and compliance officers f
- Ethics World
Nonprofit is arranged to highlight news, ethics and employees, corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, public sector governance and news from NGO's. Sections can link to ethics surveys, case studies and articles and best practices as well as to current legal cases, executive compensation and csr. Organized site gives easy access to company news on corruption, ethical problems, etc...
- Boston College Center for Corporate Citizenship
- Business for Social Responsibility
BSR is an organization whose goal is to help companies use high ethical standards to achieve success. Through its publications, web site, and its network with other companies, NGO's and other stakeholders, it connects companies with best practices and models. For the visitor to this site, the Issue Briefs, External Resources and and selected articles from the BSR magazine are accessible
- Business Roundtable: Institute for Corporate Ethics
Housed at Univ. of Virginia's Darden Graduate School of Business Administration, this new center has its members 150 CEO's and faculty from Darden Harvard, Northeastern, Northwestern, Penn State, Univ of Mich, Univ of Minn. Notre Dame and U Texas at Austin. The goal of the institute is collect "best practices" for teaching ethics to students and professionals.
- Center for Ethics and Business
Web site for Loyola Marymount University. Fun icons help the user through this site. Be sure to go to the toolbox for brief papers on the philosophic basics of ethics.
- Center for Ethics and Corporate Responsibility
Georgia State University. Includes online access to the journal Good Business (latest issues 2009) and findings from the National Survey of CEOs on Business Ethics - a biennial survey
- e-business ethics.com
The Center is located at Colorado State University and sponsors this e-ethics site. "Much of this site's content is being provided by businesses, nonprofit organizations, government agencies and academics that support interactivity and accessibility of information. " Includes case studies, sample articles and links to other centers.
- Ethics & Compliance Officers Association
The Ethics Officer Association (EOA) is the professional association exclusively for managers of ethics, compliance and business conduct programs." Check the membership directory for a list of companies which have ethics officer. Information on the scope of the duties of an ethics officer, plus links to other organizations and centers contribute to this valuable website
- Ethics Resource Center
The Ethics Resource Center is a nonprofit educational organization, founded 85 years ago. Contains downloadable articles Its areas of primary interest are character development, global ethics and organizational ethics as well as federal policy and national surveys. Includes book reviews. In addition, to full text of its newsletter online, the web site has much to offer the site visitor. Use the FAQ section for not only information about the site, but other links on the web relevant to ethics
- International Business Ethics Institute
Founded in 1994, this organization focuses on international business ethics. Its website has the full text of reports, as well as many articles from its publication, International Business Ethics Review. In addition to education and communication activities, the institute also works directly with companies. Its resource page links with ethics quotes, a bibliography and a 3 page primer on business ethics.
- Markula Center for Applied Ethics
Located at Santa Clara University, this renowned center analyzes ethical issues and develops tools to address these issues.
- Society for Business Ethics
"The Society for Business Ethics is an international organization of scholars and others interested in business ethics. The Society provides a forum for those interested in research, teaching, or the practical application of ethical principles and concepts to the management of businesses. The Society... produces the scholarly journal Business Ethics Quarterly."