Skip to main content

Special Collections

Education

  • Maria Montessori Collection: E. Mortimer Standing, an international authority in the Montessori method of teaching and early childhood education, was associated with Maria Montessori for more than thirty years. He assisted her in training courses and conducted many himself throughout the world. Author of 3 books on Montessori, his collection includes a variety of materials relating to her life and work, among them are manuscripts, correspondence, lectures, pamphlets, photos and some curriculum materials. Consult the online finding aid to find out more about the collection.

           Access the collection in the library catalog  with the following keyword searches:

                       Montessori Collection

                       Standing Collection on the Montessori Method

 

History

  • Mary, Queen of Scots Collection: This collection was willed to Seattle University in 1965 by the late Mrs. Nathalie T. Wilson. It includes approximately 150 rare and valuable books written about Queen Mary or owned by the Queen’s family. The collection includes books written in English, French, Italian and Latin.

            Access the collection in the library catalog using one of the following keyword headings:

                          Mary, Queen of Scots

                         Nathalie T. Wilson Collection of Mary, Queen of Scots

  • Napoleonic Collection: Acquired by Seattle University in 1947, this remarkable collection of 2000 volumes, in English, French, German and Scandinavian languages, records the life of Napoleon, his campaigns and achievements. Of particular note, Le Moniteur Universel, dating from 1789-1810, is an official French journal of government policy.

             Access the collection in the library catalog using one of the following keyword headings:

                        Napoleonic Collection

                        A.H. Sonsthagen  Napoleonic Collection  

            

Literature

Religion

  • Chapel of Ignatius: The Chapel of St. Ignatius on the campus of Seattle University is an award winning architectural sacred space designed by world renowned architect Steven Holl. The materials in this collection document the history of the Chapel of St. Ignatius from the initial project proposal in 1991 through the design, construction and dedication in 1997. The collection includes architectural drawings, artifacts, committee minutes, graphic materials, moving images, award certificates and textual materials. Consult the online finding aid for more information about the collection.
  • Book of Hours:
  • Torah:

Science

  • Darwin Collection: Donated by Seattle University Professor Emeritus John Toutonghi in honor of his family, this collection of 129 items includes books on science, evolution and ethics by and about Charles Darwin. Notable titles include early editions of On the Origin of Species and The Voyage of the Beagle.

            Access the collection in the library catalog using one of the following keyword headings:

                        Darwin Collection

                        Melville Harrison Hatch Collection of Darwin

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Profile

Mary Sepulveda's picture
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209

Coordinator of Collection Development

and Special Collections