Skip to main content

Special Collections

Ivory portrait of Mary Queen of Scots

Donated by Nathalie Wilson Donated by Nathalie Wilson

Front Cover of "Desiderius Erasmus"

Desiderius Erasmus; Libellus novus at elegans D. Erasmi Roterodami, de pueris statim ac liberaliter instituendis...;

Basel, 1529

Donated by Nathalie Wilson

Front Cover of "Chronicorum libellus"

Chronicorum libellus : maximas quasque res gestas, ab initio mundi, apto ordine complectens…

By Johannes Carion; Frankfurt, 1543

Donated by Nathalie Wilson

Title Page of "Chronicorum libellus"

Chronicorum libellus : maximas quasque res gestas, ab initio mundi, apto ordine complectens…

By Johannes Carion; Frankfurt, 1543

Donated by Nathalie Wilson

Title Page of "Basilikon dōron. Or His Maiesties instructions to his dearest sonne, Henry the prince"

Basilikon dōron. Or his Magesties instructions to his dear sonne, Henry the prince

By James I, King of England; London, 1603

Donated by Nathalie Wilson

Title Page of "The historie of the life and death of Mary Stuart"

The historie of the life and death of Mary Stuart, Queene of Scotland

By Wil. Strangvage (pseudonym); London, 1624

Donated by Nathalie Wilson

About the Collection

The Nathalie T. Wilson Collection of Mary, Queen of Scots 

This collection was willed to Seattle University in 1965 by the late Mrs. Nathalie T. Wilson. It includes approximately 150 rare and valuable books written about Queen Mary or owned by the Queen’s family. The collection includes books written in English, French, Italian and Latin.

A selection of early books in the collection arranged chronologically by publication date:

  • Desiderius Erasmus; Libellus novus et elegans D. Erasmi Roterodami, de pueris statim ac liberaliter instituendis…;

    Basel, 1529
    [Not yet cataloged]
    Annotation: Treatise on the liberal education of children.
    Provenance: Personal property of James Stuart, Earl of Moray and half- brother to Mary Queen of Scots; the binding  bears his coat of arms, name, and motto.
     
  • Chronicorum libellus : maximas quasque res gestas, ab initio mundi, apto ordine complectens…
    By Johannes Carion ; Frankfurt, 1543
    Call number: D 18 C32 1543  
    Annotation: World history from the creation of the world until approximately 1500.
    Provenance:  Personal property of Adam Bothwell, Bishop of Orkney and bears  his autograph signature on the title page 'Adamus Episcopus Orchaden').  The Bishop performed the marriage Ceremony of Marriage between Mary and the Earl of Bothwell; and crowned her son, James, King James VI of Scotland.
  • Ane detectioun of the duinges of Marie, quene of Scottes, touchand the murder of hir husband, and hir conspiracie, adulterie, and pretensed mariage with Erle Bothwell : and ane defence of the trew lordis, mainteineris of the kingis graces actioun and authoritie
    By George Buchanan ; London, 1571(?)
    [Not yet cataloged]
    Annotation:  George Buchanan, 16th century Protestant and Scottish historian, political philosopher, and poet, opposed Mary's rule after the murder of Mary's husband and consort, Lord Darnley. Mary and the Earl of Bothwell were implicated in the murder. Text includes both Latin and English; written four years after Mary's forced abdication.
  • De origine moribus, et rebus gestis Scotorum libri decem ...
    By John Leslie ; Rome, 1578
    Call number:  DA 775 .L4 1578
    Annotation:  A history of Scotland.   John Leslie, Bishop of Ross, was Queen Mary's ambassador to the court of Queen Elizabeth of England. After being imprisoned in England and later exiled from Britain, he continued to support Mary and the Catholic cause.
    Provenance:  Published in 1578 while Leslie was in exile.
  • La recerche des singularitez plvs remarqvables concernant l'estat d'Escosse.
    By David Chambers, Lord Ormond ; Paris, 1579
    Call number:  DA 775 C444 R2 1579
    Annotation:  Chambers, a prominent legal official in Mary's court, was implicated in the murder of Mary's      husband and consort, Lord Darnley. After Mary abdicated, Chambers fled to the continent and d published this description of Scotland and its customs.
  • De titulo et iure serenissimæ principis Mariæ Scotorum Reginæ : quo regni Angliæ successionem sibi iustè vendicat libellus…
    By John Leslie[ Jehann de Lesselie] ; Reims, 1580
    Call number: DA 786 L4 1580
    Annotation:  After imprisonment and exile from England, John Leslie, Bishop of Ross and Queen Mary's ambassador to the court of Queen Elizabeth wrote in defense of Mary’s right to the throne of England and in support of the Catholic cause.
  • Rerum Scoticarum historia, libris XX descripta, : qui regionum situs, quod soli caelique sit ingenium, quae vetusta gentis nomina, mores, leges, & instituta…
    By George Buchanan ; Frankfurt, 1584
    Call number: DA 775 .B83 1584  
    Annotation:  Published at the end of his life in 1582, Buchanan criticizes tyranny and supports political power that comes from the people. This work is similar to his work, De Jure Regni apud Scotos (1579), or, The Right of Kingship among the Scots. 
  • Dv droict et tiltre de la serenissime princesse Marie, royne d'Escosse, & des tres-illustre prince Iacques VI, roy d'Escosse son fils, à la succession du royaume d'Angleterre.
    By John Leslie [Jehann de Lesselie] ; Rouen, 1587
    [Not yet cataloged]
    Annotation:  John Leslie in exile, defended the legitimacy of Mary's claim to the English throne.
     
  • Theatrvm Crudelitatum Haereticorum Nostri Temporis.
    By Richard Verstegan ; Antwerp, 1587
    Call number: BR 1605 V56 1587
    Annotation: A "martyrology" depicting, in detailed illustrations, the gruesome forms of execution inflicted upon Catholics persecuted for their faith.
     
  • A defence of the honorable sentence and execution of the Queene of Scots : exempled with analogies, and diuerse presidents of emperors, kings, and popes: with the opinions of learned men in the point, and diuerse reasons gathered foorth out of both lawes ciuill and canon, together with the answere to certaine obiections made by the fauourites of the late Scottish Queene.
    [Unknown author] ; London, 1587
    Call number: DA 787 A2 D3 1587
    Annotation: A justification of the actions taken against Mary, by comparing her with other rulers who had committed similar offenses, comparison to actions taken against those rulers, and citation of relevant civil and canon law.
    Provenance: Unidentified author.
  • Martyre de la Royne d'Escosse, Douariere de France: conten¯at le vray discours des trahisons à elle faictes à la suscitation d'Elizabet Angloise, par lequel les mensonges, calomnies & faulses accusations ... sont esclarcies & son innocence averée ...
    By Adam Blackwood ; Paris(?), 1588
    Call number: DA 787 .A1 B632 1588  
    Annotation: A devoted supporter of Mary, Blackwood published this book shortly after her execution.
  • Maria Stuarta, regina Scotiæ, dotaria Franciæ, hæres Angliæ et Hyberniæ, martyr ecclesie, innocens à cæde Darleana: vindice Oberto Barnestapolio…
    By Robert Turner ; Ingolstadt, 1588
    Call number: DA 787 .A2 T9 1588  
    Annotation: Mary is portrayed as an innocent and a martyr for her Catholic faith.
    Provenance: Published under the pseudonym Oberto Barnestapolio, Robert Turner was a Scotsman and supporter of Mary. He was educated at Oxford, and held a number of academic positions in Catholic-friendly European countries, including being Rector at the University of Ingolstadt.
  • Summarium rationum, : quibus cancellarius Angliae et prolocutor Puckeringius Elizabethae Angliae Reginae persuaserunt occidendam esse serenissimam Principem Mariam Stuartam Scotiae Reginam & Iacobi Sexti Scotorum Regis matrem: vna cum responsionibus Reginae Angliae et sententia mortis…
    By Romoaldus Scotus (pseudonym) ; Ingolstadt, 1588
    Call number: DA 787 .A2 S4 1588
    Annotation: An anonymous account of the condemnation and execution of Mary, includes speeches by Sir Thomas Puckering, who petitioned Elizabeth to have Mary executed, and Elizabeth’s responses to the speeches. Includes:  poems in honor of Mary and a letter from the German theologian/historian Joannes Pistorius (1546-1608) to Jacobus Gryneus.
  • Basilikon dōron. Or His Maiesties instructions to his dearest sonne, Henry the prince
    By James I, King of England ;  London, 1603
    Call number: JC 393 C3 J27 1603
    Annotation: Written after Mary’s death by her son, James I, King of England (also known as James VI of Scotland) this is a narrative of paternal advice on being a wise ruler and godly monarch addressed to his eldest son, Henry.
  • The historie of the life and death of Mary Stuart, Queene of Scotland
    By Wil. Strangvage (pseudonym) ; London, 1624
    Call number: DA 787 A2 H67 1624
    Annotation: A literal translation of selections taken from Camden's Annales rerum anglicaru hibernicarum regnante Elizabetha, ad annum salutis M.D. LXXXIX, published in 1615. It includes chronological passages relevant to the history of Queen Mary.  “ Wil. Strangvage” was identified as the pseudonym of William Udall, who republished this work under his own name in 1636.
  • A relation of the death of David Rizzi : chief favorite to Mary Stuart Queen of Scotland; who was killed in the apartment of the said Queen on the 9th of March 1565
    By Patrick Ruthven [Lord Ruthven] ; London, 1699
    Call number: DA 787 R6 R88 1699
    Annotation:  David Riccio [David Rizzi], an Italian musician, commoner, and secretary to Queen Mary, was rumored to be her lover. He fell victim to Lord Darnley’s jealousy and political intrigue, and was murdered in Mary’s presence in 1566.
  • A detection of the actions of Mary Queen of Scots, concerning the murder of her husband, and her conspiracy, adultery, and pretended marriage with the Earl Bothwell ; and a defence of the true Lords, maintainers of the King's Majesties action and authority.
    By George Buchanan ; London(?), 1721
    Call number:  DA 787 .A2 B9 1721
    Contents: Three different works in English, bound as one volume, includes : 1) an unfavorable view of Mary's actions as Queen;  2) De Jure Regni apud Scotos, (translated here as A discourse concerning the due privilege of government in the kingdom of Scotland), which represent Buchanan's views on the proper governance of Scotland;  and 3) Geneologie of all the kings of Scotland, Scottish kings from King Fergus I ( 4thcentury BC). Buchanan was a 16th century Scottish historian and humorist.  

 

 

A selection of books in the collection published in the 19th and 20th centuries:

 

·         Epithalamium on the Marriage of Francis and Mary, queen of Scots

By George Buchanan ; Edinburgh, 1845

Call Number:  PR 2218 E6             

Annotation: An epithalamium is a poem composed in honor of a bride and recited at her wedding.  George Buchanan composed this poem in 1558 for the wedding of Mary, Queen of Scots, to Francis, the Dauphin of France.

Provenance: Rare, fragile item purchased by Nathalie Wilson. Available for limited viewing.

 

·         Palaces, prisons, and resting places of Mary, queen of Scots

By Michael Myers Shoemaker ; London, 1902

Call Number:  DA 787 A3 S5 1902

Annotation: An illustrated history following Mary, Queen of Scots in “pilgrimage” [preface]  throughout the course of her life by journeying to her homes, places of visitation as well as her final destination where she was held captive, put to death and her final resting place in Westminster Abbey.

                Provenance: Limited to 375 copies

 

·         The Library of Mary Queen of Scots

By Julian Sharman ; London, 1889

Call Number:  Z997 .M39 S53 1889

Annotation:  List and description of Mary, Queen of Scots personal library of approximately 250 books revealing her  interests, education and spirituality

 

·         Mary, queen of Scots; a narrative and defence, by an elder of the Church of Scotland

By Alexander Walker ; Aberdeen, 1889

Call Number:  DA 787 A1 W35 1889

            Provenance: Unique binding

 

·         Concerning the true portraiture of Mary, Queen of Scots

By JJ Foster ; London, 1904

Call Number:  N 7639 .M3 F6 1904 

Annotation:  Large, folio volume richly illustrated with many portraits of Mary, Queen of Scots.  Many repute the authenticity of these portraits but this book claims to determine which portraits may be accepted as being "the true portraiture of the Queen of Scots.”

                Provenance: Limited to 175 copies

 

·         Brief notes on the Mary Queen of Scots Cabinet from Castle Menzies, Perthshire

By E. Gordon Duff ; Privately Printed, 1913

Call Number:  CS 479 M5 1913

Annotation:  A brief description of the history of a piece of furniture once owned by Mary, Queen of Scots who gave it to the Menzies family. Also included is a history of the Menzies family and their home, Castle Menzies.

 

·         The Penicuik jewels of Mary Queen of Scots

By Walter Seton ; London, 1923

Call Number:  DA 787 .A3 S4 1923 

Annotation:  Description and illustration of a collection of jewels, ornaments and artifacts reputed to have belonged to Mary. Included is the research undertaken to authenticate the claim. Also discusses the efforts undertaken to acquire the        collection for Scotland when it was offered for sale by the Clerks of Penicuik in 1923.

Provenance:   A small press book with only 250 copies printed.

 

·         The love affairs of Mary queen of Scots; a political history

By Martin Hume ; New York, 1925(?)

Call Number:  DA 787 A3 H9

Annotation:   Martin Hume’s book attempts to study Mary’s successes and failures as a politician through the lens of her relationships with men.

Additional Resources

More resources related to Maria Stuarta, regina Scotiæ. doctoria Franciæ, hæres Angliæ et Hyberniæ, martyr ecclesie, innocens à cæde Darleana: vindice Oberto Barnestapolio... by Robert Turner

More resources related to Summarium rationum,: quibus cancellarius Angliae et prolocutor Puckeringius Elizabethae Angliae Reginae persuaserunt occidendam esse serenissimam Principem Mariam Stuartam Scotiae Reginam& Iacobi Sexti Scotorum Refis matrem: vna cum responsionibus Reginae Angliae et sententia mortis... by Romoaldus Scotus (pseudonym)

 

 

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Profile

Mary Sepulveda's picture
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209

Coordinator of Collection Development

and Special Collections