Skip to main content

UCOR 1440-04: European Witch Hunts (Tracey Pepper)

Article Databases

JSTOR (short for Journal Storage). Unlike most databases is a top database to search for scholarly articles in history. JSTOR starts with the first issue of a journal and  does not have access to its most recent publications.  Journal issues are  added to JSTOR 3 to 5 years after publication (a moving wall).  Lemieux Library has a subscription to the journals , but does not have access to its book and pamphlet collections.

 

JSTOR and Project Muse contain full-text scholarly articles. Other article databases  may only index articlles or have only some journals not in full text.

For Journals not in Full text, click on the icon SEARCH FOR FULL TEXT.  If the link does not lead you to the article through another database or journal collection, then click on interlibrary loan. The form in the database will be populated with the journal information, you need only put your personal information. If you find a reference to an article from another source other than a database, click on the Interlibrary Loan link and submit a request to borrow the article from a lending library.

 

Advanced Searching: Sample Search

Searching Advanced JSTOR

Register for a MyJSTOR account  (top banner) to:

•Save citations

•Email and export saved citations

•Save and run searches

•Receive email alerts for saved searches, tracked journals (eToc), and tracked citations

What does JSTOR search?

A full-text search in JSTOR searches the entire article; options include title, caption, author, and abstract. Avoid abstract searching-limited number of abstracts in JSTOR

How do I specify that my terms are near to each other?

In this search, genocide and Darfur are required to be within 5 words of each other. You can also use near 10, near 25

Am I limited to searching on two rows (fields)?

No, for complex searching you can add up to 5 rows

What are recommended ways to further narrow a search?

  • Limit to content that is available
  • Limit to searching ARTICLES
  • You might also want to limit your search to certain disciplines or even journals. In the example search,  African Studies journals are selected. History and Political Science journals might also be added to the search

 


Click on the ADVANCED Search tab under the opening dialog box

To combine search terms

AND combines two search terms producing results that contain both terms (e.g. genocide AND Darfur)

OR between two search terms generates results that contain either of the terms (e.g.Kampuchea  OR  Khmer Rouge )

NOT excludes one of the terms, which means that the results will include one term, but not the other (genocide NOT politicide)

NEAR (choose 5, 10, or 25locate your search terms within a certain number of words

Combine search terms with parentheses  (Kampuchea  OR  Khmer Rouge or Cambodia) and (genocide NOT politicide)

Use quotation marks to  look for only that specific phrase. For example, a search for “human rights” will generate results with that specific phrase, however a search for  human rights  will generate results that contain human AND  rights  somewhere in the article, not necessary side by side.

JSTOR’s Wildcards allow you to look for multiple versions of a word. ? replaces a single letter (wom?n), while * replaces multiple letters. Global* gives you results which can include the terms, globe, globes, globally, etc.

Scholarly vs Popular Journals

 

Scholarly journals, also called peer-reviewed, refereed, academic  or professional journals are the core information sources in many disciplines. Written for an academic audience, they are published by organizations  with an academic or scholarly mission. Many scholarly journals are also peer reviewed which means that prior to publication, an article is reviewed by scholars in the field using criteria of accuracy, value to the field and scholarly merit. Article usually reports on original research and scholarship (results of original inquiry).

 

1) Journal Name. The title often has the word "journal: or the name of a professional or academic association.

2) Articles are signed and the author has authority in the field. Often the author will state her credentials.

3) Article length is usually over 6 pages, contains specialized language as well as supporting references.

4) Serious in appearance; mostly text plus charts and graphs, few glossy photos or illustrations

Some databases will provide a limiter to filter only scholarly or peer-reviewed publications. Other database such as JSTOR and PROJECT MUSE only contain scholarly journals.

Popular articles are generally:

1) Written by reporters or magazine staff; the author may not even be listed.

2) Chosen for publication by an editor or board of the magazine.

3) Providing general information or entertainment; reporting on ideas originating elsewhere.

4) Brief; rarely cite sources; are written for the general public or interested non-specialist in simple language.

5) Have an eye-catching appearance; often well illustrated; the publication usually contains lots of advertisements

Not Sure? Peer reviewed journals can be identified in Ulrichs Database.

 

Can I Use Google Scholar?

    • Google Scholar indexes scholarly material and provides information on the number of times the material has been cited.
    • There is no index of what Google Scholar includes and excludes
    • Check for the fulltext of articles in Google Scholar Results by searching our catalog. Click on the Journal tab to limit your search.
    • Initiate an interlibrary lmoan for articles not fulltext through the library's sources.

Step 1.  Go directly to Google or enter a single term in the box below.  Use the advanced search feature of Google Scholar to see how you can format  searches.   For example: enter terms that would retrieve articles on the intersection witches and the Renaissance

Step 2. To gain access to the article, you can see if the library has access to the journal by searching the journal title in the library's catalog.  If the library does not have access, you can request on interlibrary loan.  Check one of the journals from your results to see if it is available through the databases.   Again, check the catalog for access.

 

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Profile

Mary Sepulveda's picture
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209

Coordinator of Collection Development

and Special Collections