Skip to main content

Political Science

Use this guide as a starting point for research in Political Science.

Chicago vs Turabian

Chicago and Turabian are extrememly similar in that they both use footnotes or endnotes. The information required in these notes is nearly identical; only a few formating differences are required.

CHICAGO 

Used in the professional world of publishing for all subject areas. Academically, Chicago style is often prefered for history papers.Two styles of documentation are allowed in this style, but footnotes or endnotes with a bibliography is most common. The other option is parenthetical reference/reference list similar to APA.

TURABIAN 

Primarilly used in history and theology. Like Chicago, the first time a source is used as an endnote, it is given a full citation. Subsequent citations are abbreviated. The endnote cites the author’s name first name and then family name. Notes at the bottom of page are footnotes, at the end of the text are called endnotes. In the bibliography, where all of the sources are listed, the author’s family name is first. Remember: in this style, indent the second line of the citation 5 spaces.

Generally considered notes style of citation where footnotes are used at the end of the page, but this style also has provisions for author-date documentation with reference.

For both Chicago and Turabian

Footnotes: Appear at the bottom of page where the work is cited. Start footnotes four lines below the text.

Endnotes: Appear at the end of the research paper on a separate page. Works are numbered and are listed sequentially to match their placement in the text.

If using footnotes/endnotes, the first time a source is used as an endnote, it is given a full citation. Subsequent citations are abbreviated. The endnote cites the author’s name first name and then family name. Notes at the bottom of page are footnotes, at the end of the text are called endnotes. In the bibliography, the author’s family name is first.

Chicago citation style

Chicago Basic Citation Anatomy

Books

Bibliography:
Kidner, John. The Kidner Report: a Satirical Look at Bureaucracy at the Paper 
               Clip and Stapler Level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, 1972.

Note:
               1John Kidner. The Kidner Report: a Satirical Look at Bureaucracy at the
Paper Clip and Stapler Level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, 1972, 24.

Articles from a print journal
Bibliography:
Heydt-Stevenson, Jill. “Slipping into the Ha-Ha”: Bawdy Humor and Body Politics
               in Jane Austen’s Novels,” Nineteenth-Century Literature 55, Issue 3 (2000): 309-340.

Note:
               1Jill Heydt-Stevenson, “Slipping into the Ha-Ha”:Bawdy Humor and Body
Politics in Jane Austen’s Novels,” Nineteenth-Century Literature 55, Issue 3 (2000): 314.

Articles from a library database
Bibliography:
         
      Harms, Dave. “Stand Aside Rubber Chicken,”  Alternatives Journal 46, no. 4 (1999): 48

               or

Note:

Internet sources:
Bibliography:

Note:

Turabian citation style

Turabian Basic Citation Anatomy

Books
Bibliography:
Kidner, John. The Kidner Report: a Satirical Look at Bureaucracy at the Paper 
              Clip and Stapler Level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, 1972.

Footnote:
               1John Kidner. The Kidner Report: a Satirical Look at Bureaucracy at the
Paper Clip and Stapler Level. (Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, 1972). 24

Article from a print journal
Bibliography:
Heydt-Stevenson, Jill. “Slipping into the Ha-Ha”: Bawdy Humor and Body Politics
               in Jane Austen’s Novels,” Nineteenth-Century Literature 55, Issue 3 (2000): 309-340.

Footnote:
               1Jill Heydt-Stevenson, “Slipping into the Ha-Ha:Bawdy Humor and Body
Politics in Jane Austen’s Novels,” Nineteenth-Century Literature 55, Issue 3 (2000): 314.

Articles from a library database
Bibliography:
Harms, Dave. “Stand Aside Rubber Chicken.”  Alternatives Journal. 46, no 4 (1999): 48.
               http:// www. proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=47632341&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientid=19912&RQt=3098VName=PQD 
               [accessed 20 June 2009].

Footnote:
               1Dave Harms. “Stand Aside Rubber Chicken,” Alternatives Journal. 46, no 4 (1999): 48.
http:// www. proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=47632341&sid=1&Fmt=2&clientid=19912&RQt=3098VName=PQD              
[ accessed 20 June 2009].

Internet sources
Bibliography:
Avery, Susan and Jennifer Masciadrelli. " Peep Research: A Study of Small Fluffy Creatures
               and Library Usage."Decatur, Il: Office of Fluffy Research, Staley Library, Millikin University,
               http://www.millikin.edu/staley/fluff/peep_research.html. [accessed 20, June 2009]

Footnote:

RefWorks

 

 

 

 

 

RefWorks is an online research management tool.  It allows you to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.

You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. ​

Since it is web-based, once you have set up your personal account, you can access RefWorks anywhere you can connect to the Internet. It is available to all SU students, faculty, and staff.

To access: RefWorks 

For more information check out the guide: New RefWorks @ SU!

Online Citation Tools

In addition to RefWorks, here are other online citation tools available for you to try.

Chicago/Turabian online sources

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Profile

Rick Block's picture
Rick Block
Contact:
Metadata Librarian

Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons

blockr@seattleu.edu

(206) 296-6208