This guide contains references to books and links to databases, journals and web sits.
Last Updated: May 9, 2013
This is a good place to start for a broad discovery search. Use Google Scholar to find articles, chapters in books, working papers and other sources. To find the fulltext of journals, search the name of the journal in the library's catalog.
This guide will get you started on your research paper and/or project and direct you to a variety of resources in Economics. If you have questions, comments or suggestions for additions to this guide, please don't hesitate to contact me.
- Business Source Complete
Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
- EconLit with Full Text
Covering the world’s economic literature, this basic research tool provides citations and abstracts and over 400 full text journals in all fields of economics. Published by the American Economic Association, coverage begins with 1969.Covers all fields in economics including economic history and theory, microeconomics, macroeconomics, economic development, economic forecasting, finance, production, welfare, inflation, accounting, international trade, consumer finance, urban economics and more.
Excellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology. Includes 99 titles in Economics among which are American Economic Review, Econometrica, Economic Journal, Journal of Applied Econometrics, Journal of Economic Literature.
- NBER National Bureau of Economic Research
The NBER is the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization. A private research organization, NBER focus is promoting research as a way to understanding the economy. Some of this research is available without subscription on the web site. For instance reports relating to business cycles are available as are some data sets. However the Working Papers are available only as abstracts at this site
- Wall Street Journal
Fulltext coverage of the national and international leading financial newspaper
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- PAIS International
Contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
- LexisNexis Academic
Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
Columbia International Affairs Online includes full text working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences; abstracts of journal articles in international affairs.
- Fed in Print: An Comprehensive index to Federal Reserve Economic Research
Intenet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variable. This includes data from EASI Health, Nielsen Claritas and Simmons Data.
For additional info see Simply Map Getting Started Guide
- Data Catalog. WorldBank