This is the "1 Start" page of the "MKTG 4520- Jay Lambe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MKTG 4520- Jay Lambe  

Marketing Management Winter 2014
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2015 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/marketing452 Print Guide

1 Start Print Page
  Search: 
 

Starting with Some General Articles

Here are some potentially helpful secondary data sources. Many of these titles are included in our database subscriptions, but they are highlighted here for your convenience.  There may be more sources for you to check---so don't stop with these!

 

Searching Overview

 

Welcome to this guide for Marketing 4520. The guide focuses on  Scope items 1-3 of  the project for this class and offers the opportunity to search databases  and other sources which may be useful for this assignment.  I have also linked websites, specific journals  which could also be helpful.  If you have questions or you get stuck, please don't hesitate to contact me.

~Karen

GENERAL SEARCHING TIPS:

  •  Be persistent and creative. Refine your search, use synonyms and search again.
  •  In searching databases and websites, use boolean searching to combine concepts.
  •  Evaluate  your sources for currency, authority and reliabilty, For this project you do not want sources earlier than Jan 2012. Optimally sources will be within the last year and also be reliable and credible.
  •  Cite your sources in format consistent with the requirements of the assignment and the discipline. For this project, you will be using a modified version of Chicago style
  •  Keep a log of your searches so that you remember what  and how you searched. 

 FOCUS ON YOUR ASSIGNMENT:

  • "your objective should be to find a few articles/reports (which you can add to later.. but should never need a ton) that are highly targeted to what you are researching."
  • Trying to find Product-Relevant Needs?(Use search terms for Product-Market. If you are successful then you will know that your support is linked to the TM).

 

Databases Worth Trying!

  • Business Source Complete
    Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  
      
    Full text articles from business trade journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
  • eMarketer  
      
    eMarketer provides the information on trends and developments in online marketing and emerging media.
  • Forrester : marketing leadership Forrester research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. For access to this database, contact Karen Gilles kgilles@seattleu.edu
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    US and global full-text market research reports covering consumer goods, technology/media and demographics, and industrial markets.
 

Start with Brainstorming

             Exercise # 1:  What terms would you use to describe ground transportation?  Write down on your worksheet  at least 5 relevant terms....

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226 RM 277
Send Email
 

Get Research Help!

Enable JavaScript to chat with a research staff member from Seattle U.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip