New Ventures

books
Business Guides
Overview
Working with actual clients, the New Venture Business Consulting class requires teams of students to analyze and deliver specific recommendations for unique projects from local companies
One activity common to all projects is to gather any relevant information for this task and the resources in this guide attempt to provide a starting point for this endeavor. Because each project is unique and evolves as communication between the client and the team develop during the project's duration, the resources in this guide are general in scope. Many projects will use information from the library's databases or creditable websites as a small portion of their deliverables.
As your liaison, please do hesitate to contact me with questions about possible information sources.
A General Path to follow: Ask yourself, who would be interested in this information?
- Governments------>
- Associations------->
- Would competitors or other firms write about this topic---->
- Would academic centers be researching in this area---->
- Would scholars write about this topic------------>
- Trade Journals------>
- General news-------->
- Are there likely to be published available market research reports-->
- Would there be overviews in books------->
- Would the information be considered proprietary and not available through secondary sources------->
Business Databases for Articles
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry Full text articles from business trade journals.
- Business Source CompleteExcellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
- LexisNexis AcademicWide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
Local News
- Puget Sound Business Journal
- Seattle Times (Newsbank : Jan. 1, 1985 - present)Full text.
- Western NewsstandProQuest Western Newsstand provides access to leading newspapers from the Western Region of the United States including the states of CA, AZ, WA, OR, AK, HI, MT, ID, WY, NV, UT, CO and NM.
Your Librarian is.... |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Get Research Help!
- Call 206.296.6230
- Visit the Library
- Email research staff
- Request a research consultation



Loading...
