This is the "1. Background" page of the "INBU3200- Teresa Brosnan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

INBU3200- Teresa Brosnan   Tags: international_business, international_industry  

2014-2015
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/globalbusiness Print Guide RSS Updates

1. Background Print Page
  Search: 
 

International Business Guide

Welcome to the Research Guide for International Business.  The guide hightlights resources  for the individual Market Research & Analysis Assignment for INBU3200

 

Customs and Culture

   If the basic country information does not have sufficient information on culture and society,

try the sources below:

eReference book

Gives basic country profile plus indepth information on food, marriage/ kinship, social stratification, gender roles, landed property, etc...

 

Country Analysis Assignment

 1. 2-3 p. Report.  Include 3+ academically, credible sources cited in APA.

 2. Based on your research, decide whether to do business in your assigned country. Consider:

  • Geographic location, capital cities, climate, population
  • Heads of state, brief details of political and economic systems
  • GDP, Main products, businesses
  • Main trading partners, main business, or industry groups
  • Language, ethnic origins, religion, culture

 3. View relevant factors from an IB perspective.  

 4. Outline pro/cons of doing business in your required country.

 5.  Include Annotated Bibliography: an organized list and summary of  consulted sources.  Start with  author (if available), title and the publishing information. The annotation is  brief (150 words or 4-6 sentences). It not only describes the work, it can also be evaluative. For this assignment, for each source include:

  • Purpose
  • Summary of main arguments
  • Why  source was chosen
  • Topics covered

Basic Country Information

 Compare general sources for Burma.  

  • CIA World Factbook
  • Foreign Travel Advice
    UK. Foreign Commonwealth Office.
  • Europa World
    Europa World, the online version of the Europa World Year Book, contains political and economic information on over 250 countries as well as statistical and directory information.

Article Databases

Business Source Complete & ABI Trade& Industry are top sources for international business articles.  Find international newspapers in LexisNexis.

Global environments. Search  information about  different environments which may effect your firm globally.  Note: You may want to think of narrower concepts. Here are some examples....

 

Broad term:Political-> Corruption taxation
Broad term: Environmental-> pollution Natural disasters
Broad term: Economic-> recession foreign investments
Broad term: Technological-> software piracy Intellectual property
Broad term: Culture-> family business gender


 

  • Business Source Complete
    Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
  • ProQuest (all collections)
    Multidisciplinary databases including ABI Trade & Industry, National, regional and local newspapers, ProQuest Family Health, ProQuest Religion, and ProQuest Research Library .
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  
      
    Full text articles from business trade journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226 RM 277
Send Email
 

Get Research Help!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip