Skip to main content

Direct linking to Library resources

Directions for creating links to library databases, resources, and articles.

The Basics

Do you want to directly link to full-text articles in your online classroom?  

Many of the library's electronic resources provide direct linking capabilities.  However, you cannot just simply copy the link up in the address bar and use that in your classroom.

There are two pieces needed to create a direct link:

  1. The proxy URL makes it possible for SU users to login and access the resource both on and off campus:  https://login.proxy.seattleu.edu/login?url=
  2. The stable URL within that database to the specific article you’re using – unique to each article or database: For example:  http://search.eb.com   (Britannica Online)

The proxy URL is placed in front of the stable URL to create the direct link.  For example, the direct link to Britannica Online:
 

PROXY: https://login.proxy.seattleu.edu/login?url=   

+   

STABLE URL: http://search.eb.com  

=  

DIRECT LINK: https://login.proxy.seattleu.edu/login?url=http://search.eb.com/ 

 

The way you "grab" the stable URL (#2) will vary according to the database interface.  The tabs along the top of this page will show you the steps in our most frequently used database interfaces.

Please contact us if you need more help!

Best Practices

Faculty can use Canvas to provide access to the majority of electronic resources purchased and licensed by the library.  Per our license agreements, it is still your responsibility to help protect the copyright of these resources.     

Best practices:

1.   Faculty should provide a link to the article instead of downloading the article. Linking is the preferred method because it avoids making a digital copy that could be easily distributed to unauthorized users.     

2.  To show good effort in protecting the copyrighted materials:

  • Include the complete Citation as well as the source of the article. For example:

Cherrico, Joel. 2013. "Handmade Grounds At the Local Blend." Ceramics Technical no. 36: 8-11. Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson), EBSCOhost (accessed February 5, 2014).

  • Only students in the course should have access to the articles.
  • After the course is over, the links, pdf's, etc., should be deleted from the Course (they should not be archived with the course)
  • On pages that include library electronic resources, you can also add the following statement:

Use of Lemieux Library's electronic resources is subject to U.S.  Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic   dissemination of resource content by the user is prohibited. Access and use is restricted by license agreements to purposes of research, teaching, and private study by current SU faculty, staff, and students; all commercial use is strictly prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply.

Need something not in the library collection for your class?

SU's Office of Copyright Compliance can help you get the permissions needed to include "copyrighted material in student course packs, class handouts, or other distributed materials".

Email the Copyright Policy Coordinator or call (206) 296-2308.

Asking students to track down the articles

You might also want the students to learn how to do this for themselves because it's a valuable skill for students to be able to track down our access to a specific article based only on citation info.  So alternatively you could give them the citations for articles and the steps below or a link to our video tutorial about looking up article full-text.

In this case if you really intend for them to read a specific article, first make sure we DO have access to the article. It might be helpful to watch this video demonstrating the steps for locating full text articles.

Lemieux Journal Search:

There are two ways to search for Lemieux Journal titles. 

From the main search box on the library's home page, select Lemieux Journals and enter a Journal title or keyword in the search box. Click "search", then scan the results list for the title you requested.

OR

From the Advanced Search page, change Material Type to Journal. Enter a Journal title or keyword, and scan the list of results. For example:

EJournal Search:

The EJournal Search allows you to search SU's EJournals by a keyword search or through alpha tabs. Get to EJournal Search from the Advanced Search link on the library's homepage. EJournal Search is located in the upper menu.

For step-by-step instructions, and downloadable PDFs on finding articles by topic of title, review our quick catalog searching guide.

Need more help?

This guide shows you how to build a persistent link to an article for many of our database interfaces.  Not all of databases have this capability.  If your article database is different from the examples provided here OR these steps aren't working for you, please ask us for help!

Research Services department - 206-296-6210 or libref@seattleu.edu

Jan Hartley - 206-296-6206 or hartleyj@seattleu.edu

 

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Welcome

Lemieux Library's picture
Lemieux Library
Contact:
206-296-6230