Google & Bing Search Tips
This is the "1) Start Here: Websites, Databases...." page of the "MKTG 350- Jay Lambe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MKTG 350- Jay Lambe   Tags: business, market_research, statistics  

Introduction to Marketing Spring 2011
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2013 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/marketing350 Print Guide RSS Updates

1) Start Here: Websites, Databases.... Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spring Project

Journal Starting Point

Here are some potentially helpful secondary data sources. Many of these titles are included in our database subscriptions, but they are highlighted here for your convenience.  There may be more sources for you to check---so don't stop with these!

 

Searching Overview

Use online resources to begin your market research project. In searching databases and website, use boolean searching to combine concepts. Be creative in the use of terms and in thinking about your search strategy. Be persistent and willing to rerun and revise searches to gain solid and reputable sources. Recognize that a good deal of marketing research is proprietary and may not available through the databases or websites.  Evaluate  your sources for currency, authority and reliabilty. Cite your sources in format consistent with the requirements of the assignment and the discipline. 

 From your assignment,"your objective should be to find a few articles/reports (which you can add to later.. but should never need a ton) that are highly targeted to what you are researching."

Trying to find Product-Relevant Needs?

(Use search terms for Product-Market. If you are successful then you will know that your support is linked to the TM). Here is an example of combining all of the search terms for each concept or attribute)

 

Product and needs of and TM and (features or benefits)

Mobile app and (needs of) and prospective US undergraduate business school students (features and benefits)

You may have to broaden search. Remember you are only interested in smartphones not other devices. The most specific search would include prospective business students. A broader search would be prospective students to the university.

Be persistent and creative. Refine your search, use synonyms and search again.  Keep a log of your searches so that you remember what and how you searched.

 

First Choice Databases

In General: 1) Databases available through library subscriptions can be discipline specific and hone in on relevant information 2) Can include and sort by scholarly and popular information 3) Academic libraries review and subscribe to databases which will support the curriculum. 4) Different interfaces can be difficult for users to learn. 5) So many databases may make it difficult for a user to know which one to use.

  • eMarketer  
      
    Check here for Best Practices for using mobile apps
  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
    Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
  • Seattle Times (Newsbank : Jan. 1, 1985 - present)
    Full text.
  • Education Research Complete  
      
    Indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals. Full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.

NEW DATABASE-No remote access, appointment required

.

  • Forrester : marketing leadership Forrester research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. For access to this database, contact Karen Gilles kgilles@seattleu.edu

Other Databases

  • Business Source Complete
    Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  
      
    Full text articles from business trade journals.
  • Gale Virtual Reference
    Electronic reference books for business, religion, medicine, social sciences, history, etc.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
    Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226
Send Email
 

Get Research Help!

Enable JavaScript to chat with a research staff member from Seattle U.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip