This guide contains information on current books and links to databases, journals and web sites.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014
The king's other body : María of Castile and the crown of Aragon
Call Number: DP133.1 .E23 2010
Idols in the East : European representations of Islam and the Orient, 1100-1450
Call Number: DS35.74.E85 A43 2009
The chronicle of Ibn al-Ath¯ir for the crusading period from al-K¯amil f¯i'l-Ta'r¯ikh. Part 3, The years 589-629/1193-1231 : the Ayy¯ubids after Saladin and the Mongol menace
Call Number: D152 .I22 2008
Call Number: DA230 .P48 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
Here is a starting point for the main websites which link to material in history and literature. See the link "Other Websites" for even more ....
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Developed by Paul Hallsall at Fordham, this aim of this resource to provide teachers and students of Medieval history with an online collection of historical documents in translation.
- ORB: The Online Reference for Medieval Studies
Last updated in 2002, the contents of ORB was written and maintained by medieval scholars in support of their teaching. Each site was reviewd by two peer reviewers.
- The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Hosted by Georgetown University
- Monastic Matrix
With a focus on the participation and contribution of women's religious communities between 400-1600, it contains both textual and material sources, primary and is selected and maintained by a medieval group of scholar.
- Electronic Resources for Medieval Philosophy
SiEPM is a medieval society focused on medieval philosophy.Drawing from the contributions of international scholars, the website contains links to edited texts, manuscript collections, bibliographies and more.
- Medieval English Towns
Covers all aspects of medieval urban communities using 5 categories: Introduction, Town Histories, Office-Holding, Links and Florilegium. The focus is on East Anglia; the Florilegium contains a huge collection in translation.
- Voice of the Shuttle
Univ. Cal. Santa Barbara hosts this sites with links to sources in the humanities
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Search more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
Provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.***BEFORE you use ARTstor please be aware of specific SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
as well as PERMITTED & RESTRICTED USES
- ATLA Religion
Premier index for international journal articles, book reviews, and essays supporting religion and theological studies. Abstracts,some full text articles and citations including Religion Index One and Religion Index Two; coverage 1949 to present.
- Cambridge Histories Online
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. INCLUDES volumes of the NEW CAMBRIDGE MEDIEVAL HISTORY
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Index to literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Also includes full text access to Renaissance Quarterly.
Excellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a comprehensive database for books, academic journals, dissertations and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Philosopher's Index
Provides citations and abstracts of articles and books in the fields of philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, and logic.
- Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
Provides access to the rolls of parliament, which are the official records of the meetings of English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1727-1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485-1509).
- Art Full Text
Offers full text, abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Project MUSE
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Gender Studies Database
GSD includes content from Women Studies International, Men’s Studies and LGBT scholarship from a variety of sources including links to carefully selected website.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles from over 500 journals, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality (including masculinity and male homosexuality), and gender during the Middle Ages. Geographically covers Medieval Europe, North Africa and the Middle East.
- BONIS Bibliography of Old Norse-Icelandic Studies
"BONIS is a selective rather than exhaustive list of noteworthy editions, monographs, articles and reviews dealing with Old Norse philology (literature, language and history) and related subjects such as West Norse runology, Viking Age studies, Archaeology, art history, ecclesiastical and legal history published anywhere in the world."
- Middle English Compendium
- British History Online
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy
- Lemieux Library Catalog
Find books, videos and other materials in our collection.
- Summit Catalog (and WorldCat)
Search the collections of 33 academic libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request Summit Item" to have the book sent to the Interim Library. Items arrive in 5-7 business days and you will be emailed when the item is here.