Skip to main content

Nursing

Citing in Nursing

How do you cite in Nursing?

Citations for nursing papers should follow the American Psychological Association (APA) format. Watch a tutorial explaining the basics of APA style by the University of Nevada.

How do you cite using APA?

How do you cite a brief in-text reference?

Author-date

  • Barreca (1991) states that “For women, humor occupies a different space emotionally than it does for men (p. 105).
  • “For women, humor occupies a different space emotionally than it does for men” (Barreca, 1991, p. 105).

How do you cite a Book or an Article in the References section?

A citation style which uses parentheses in text (author-date) instead of footnotes or endnotes, this format is popular in those disciplines where the date of the work, its currency, is significant to the reading of the text. Sources are listed at the end of the text in a section called References.

Reference List

Book

Kidner, J. (1972). The Kidner Report: a statistical look at bureaucracy at the paper clip and stapler level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books

Articles from a print journal
Heydt-Stevenson, J. (2000). "Slipping into the ha-ha”: bawdy humor and body politics in Jane Austen’s novels. Nineteenth-Century Literature, 55(3), 309-340.

How do you cite an internet source?

(Remember standards are still evolving)

Author. (Publication date). Title. Retrieval statement: complete URL

Avery, S., & Masciadrelli, J. (2003, April) Peep Research: A study of small fluffy creatures and library usage. April 2003. Retrieved July 11, 2018 from https://millikin.edu/staley/about-library/peeps-library

For more information:

How do you cite a source from a library database?

Author. (Publication date). Article title. Magazine title, [page numbers if available]. For journal articles, APA  now requires the use of  a unique number called a DOI. Some databases will have the DOI in the article record, some pdf's may also have the DOI. Go also to the journal website; you may find the DOI for the article there. If your searching results in no DOI, then include at end of the Article citation Retrieved from [source] database (name of database)

Example of journal article in database  with no DOI:

Banoff, S. I. (1994, June). Turkeys and chickens fear IRS audits. Journal of Taxation, 21(3), p.380. Retrieved from Proquest Research Library database.

**(Use this format only if a DOI is not available. Check the database for the DOI, as well as the journal website).**

Example of journal article in database DOI found at website:

Heydt-Stevenson, J.(2000). "Slipping into the ha-ha:" bawdy humor and body politics in Jane Austen's novels. Nineteenth Century Literature 55(3), 314. doi:10.1525/incl.2000.55.3.01pol464 l.2000.55

For more information:

Citation Basics

What is a citation?

A citation identifies for the reader the source of the origin for an idea, information, or image that is referred to in a work. A basic citation includes the author, title and publication information for the source. Other elements are added to help the reader find the original work.

Example Book Citation
Kidner, J. (1972). The Kidner Report: a statistical look at bureaucracy at the paper clip and stapler level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books

Example Article Citation
Heydt-Stevenson, J. (2000). "Slipping into the ha-ha”: bawdy humor and body politics in Jane Austen’s novels. Nineteenth-Century Literature, 55 (3), 309-340.

Why cite?

  • Give credit to your sources. Be fair to other authors. Ideas or information which you take from another author or source should be acknowledged through your citations.
  • Give yourself credit. When you cite your sources, you show evidence of your own research.
  • Give your reader the opportunity to build on your work. Readers may want to follow-up on some of your source material. A good citation will enable a reader to find this material more easily.

Avoiding Plagiarism

What do you need to cite?

In general:

  • Quoting. Are you quoting two or more consecutive words from a source? Then the original source should be cited and the words or phrase placed in quotes. Use quotes when you want to convey to the reader the language of the original text.
  • Paraphrasing. If an idea or information comes from another source, even if you put it in your own words, you still should credit the source. Be careful when you paraphrase to reflect your own writing style, not the original author.
  • General Knowledge vs. Unfamiliar Knowledge. You do not need to cite material which is accepted common knowledge. You would not have to cite the fact that Big Ben was in London, but you would have to cite little known facts about Big Ben, e.g. dimensions of the tower, who it was named after. If in doubt whether your information is common knowledge or not, cite it.
  • Formats. When we think of citing sources, we usually think of books and articles. However, if you use material from web sites, films, music, laboratory manuals, lecture notes, special application software, graphs, tables, etc… you will also need to cite these sources.

Citing Special Sources

How do I cite UpToDate "articles"?

 

Example:

Jobson MD. Second-generation antipsychotic medications: pharmacology, administration, and side effects. Post TW, ed. UpToDate. Waltham, MA: UpToDate Inc. http://www.uptodate.com.proxy.seattleu.edu (Accessed on January 02, 2017.)

Source: https://www-uptodate-com.proxy.seattleu.edu/home/linking-policy

How do I cite Lexi-Comp sources?

Guidelines can be found at:

https://www.lexi.com/home/trademarks.jsp?id=references

RefWorks

 

 

 

 

 

RefWorks is an online research management tool.  It allows you to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.

You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections. ​

Since it is web-based, once you have set up your personal account, you can access RefWorks anywhere you can connect to the Internet. It is available to all SU students, faculty, and staff.

To access: RefWorks 

For more information check out the guide: New RefWorks @ SU!

Get Research Help

chat loading...