Skip to main content

Citation Manager: RefWorks

Creating a Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

To use a custom output style from your RefWorks account, click here.

Write-N-Cite with Microsoft Word Plug In

RefWorks offers a Write-N-Cite add on for Microsoft Word that allows you to insert and edit citations and create bibliographies in Microsoft Word. 

To install the add-on, follow the following steps: 

  1. In RefWorks, click on your name in the upper right hand corner of the page, and select Tools from the pull down menu that appears. 
  2. Scroll down to the section fo the page that says "Cite in Microsoft Word" and follow the steps for installing the plug-in for your operating system. 

 

RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

‚ÄčIf you use Google Docs as your main word processor, you can use the RefWorks Add-on for Google docs to create citations and bibliographies in your document. 

Installing the Google Docs Add-on for RefWorks

  1. Open a blank document and select “Add-ons”, “Get Add-ons” and search for “ProQuest RefWorks”.  Once you find it, just click on the “free” button to add it.

     2.  You’ll be asked to “accept” certain conditions of using the add-on:


     3.  Once you have accepted the conditions, you’re brought into your new document and are ready to start writing your paper. 

 

Working with the ProQuest RefWorks Add-on for Google Docs

  1. When you are ready to insert your first citation, select “Add-ons”, “ProQuest RefWorks”, “Manage Citations”. 

  1. If this is your first time using the RefWorks add-on, you’ll be asked to log in to your RefWorks account, using your Seattle University email. Once you’ve logged in, you don’t need to log out unless you’re on a public computer.

  1. The right-hand pane will change, defaulting to your RefWorks “All references” view.

  1. If you want to work with a RefWorks collection of references, just click on “All references” to see your list of collections.  Choose the collection with the references you need for your paper.  You can also use the “search” option to search for specific references.  The search options searches all fields.

  1. You can start writing your paper and when you are ready to cite a reference in RefWorks, click on the citation and click the “cite this” button.  The in-text citation will be inserted (using the last output style you used in RefWorks).

  1. There is also a citation editing option.  Click “Edit and Cite” to add page numbers, hide the author name, or hide the publication year in your in-text citation (dependent upon the output style you are using).   You will also see a preview of the in-text citation and your bibliography entry.

Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you. 

You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):

Changing your citation style

There are two ways you can change your citation style for your paper:

  1.  In the RefWorks pane in your document, click on the “options” icon  and select “Change citation style”

  1. Or you can select any reference from the list and click the “Cite and Edit” button and change the style:

Deleting or changing citations

  1. Highlight the citation you wish to delete and use the backspace key or delete key to remove it.
  2. Insert the new citation (if applicable).
  3. Click on the “options” icon  and select “Update document”.  Your document will refresh and the bibliography entry will be removed or updated (if you added a replacement citation).

Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.

Note:  changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.

Get Research Help

chat loading...