Skip to main content

Research Path

Finding books

Books provide in-depth coverage of topics and usually include a bibliography of further sources to consult.

 

https://flic.kr/p/PZmWU

Use the library's online catalog to find available books. Use the “Request Item” button to request the books you want, and library staff will retrieve them for you.  You will receive an email when they are available to pick up at the Circulation Desk.

Search tip:  Books can be searched in a number of ways, including author and title. A convenient way to search is by “keyword.” This approach allows you to enter one or more words which relate to your topic, and books that contain your words in the title, subject, or author will be found.


Using Summit: To find books the SU library doesn't own, use Summit, a catalog of books in our consortium of university libraries in the Pacific Northwest.  Most books and videos in Summit are available to Seattle University students.  Click "Request Summit Item" to request a book or video. You will receive an email when it is ready to pick up at the library's Circulation Desk.

Finding websites

Websites provide current and specialized information, often from organizations and government agencies as well as individuals. (The quality of the information provided on web sites can vary greatly. See “Evaluate Your Information.”)

Use one of the research guides created by Seattle U librarians to access credible content on the web related to specific subjects. Here are examples of a few Seattle U subject guides:

Use the search engine Google to find information on the world wide web.

 

Finding articles

Articles: give current and concise information; they report news, opinion, and research. Articles can be popular or scholarly in nature and can contain primary or secondary information. Publications containing articles include newspapers and magazines (also referred to as journals, periodicals or serials).


Image source: Cambridge Journals Blog

Databases: Use one or more of the library’s 200+ databases. Many databases provide the full text of the articles; in other instances, the database will provide a summary (abstract) of the article. If we don't have online access to the journal you want, you can request the article via InterLibrary Loan.

What are databases and why you use them

Finding videos

Videos provide visual information as a complement to printed sources. The library owns thousands of videos in many areas related to the curriculum as well as popular feature films.


Do a video search in the catalog. Use the “Request Item” button in the library’s online catalog to request the videos you want and library staff will retrieve them for you.  You will receive an email when they are available to pick up at the Circulation Desk.

Search tip:  If you are interested in finding a movie for fun or entertainment, search using the subject heading “Feature Films.

Get Research Help

chat loading...