This is the "1 START HERE" page of the "Tutorial for Business Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Use the guide as a starting point for basic business research
Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/tutorialbusinessresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

1 START HERE Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Get Research Help!

Enable JavaScript to chat with a research staff member from Seattle U.

 

Overview: What do I need to find?

 

This tutorial was created to serve as a good general starting for students doing business research. More detail and additional sources can be found in the  Research Guides: Business: Finding Company Information  and   Business: Finding Industry Information.  If you have questions, please contact me.  I am eager to help!

~Karen

 Business & Economic Databases

 

1. How do I find the names and addresses of the chief officers of publicly owned companies?

2. How do I find financial information? (stock prices, dividends, shares outstanding, income/balance sheets)

3. How do I find company ratios and industry ratios? 

4. How do I find industry information and trends? ( forecasts, major competitors)

5. How do I find out about company trends? (current company overview, economic, technology, regulatory changes, suppliers...)

6. How do I find information on corporate culture?  (management style, organizational structure, benefits, types of employees...)

7. How do I find marketing information?  (market share and market strategy, niche, customer demographics....)

8. How do I cite my sources?

1 Directory Information: Name/Address of Officers

Usually easy-to find on the company's website. Be careful of using dated sources for this information. Many of the databases and financial websites will also supply this information. In addition, use these databases to create lists of companies by size, location and industry

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Use this source for Directory information. Lexis Nexis's snapshot is a compilation of data and information from many sources including Hoover's. One source for executives if America's Corporate Fianance Directory
  • Reference USA  
      
    Use this directory source to find executives in not only US companies, but also international companies through its portal to One Source Global Business Browser (choose international)
  • Mint Global
    Find links to chief executives in this source for international and private companies. Will include executives at the vice president level for major units
  • Orbis
    The ORBIS database covers financial information for companies worldwide. Strong coverage of Europe and Asian firms as well as information on significant private companies. This database has been created with a sophisticated interface for advanced searchers. To search the same database using basic, end user friendly searching go to Mint Global.
  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Extensive list of chief executives and board members; some with biographical information and compensation information.

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226 RM 277
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip