Management & Ethics
World Bank. Doing Business....
GMID-Passport
UN DATACIA World FactbookOECDUN COMTRADE
This is the "Overview" page of the "Business: International Business " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business: International Business   Tags: business, company, industry, international_business, international_industry, marketing  

This guide is intended as a starting point for international business research.
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattleu.edu/tutorialintbus Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

In this Guide:

FOR INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS CONSULTING PROJECTS: One activity common to all projects is to gather any relevant information for this task and the resources in this guide attempt to provide a starting point for this endeavor. Because each project is unique and evolves as communication between the client and the team develop during the project's duration, the resources in  this guide are general in scope. Many projects will use information from the library's databases or creditable websites as a small portion of their deliverables. 

As you work  your information needs may change. Be ready to search sources multiple times with new search terms and parameters. If you are working on a project for international business, the scope of the project will be uniquely suited to your client's needs. Some projects will entail extensive country information for market possibilities, while others may involve global companies which will submit projects requesting recommendations for restructuring internal operations.

  • Before you start, think about what  you already know about the topic?

  • What information can your client share with you about the project?

  • Do you need to find general background information to give you some context about the project?

As your liaison, please do hesitate to contact me with questions about possible information sources.

~Karen

 

  

 

Find Articles by Location

Research Your Topic With our Subscription Databases

  • Business Source Complete
    Excellent starting point for research. Includes extensive full text of both scholarly and popular journals; also full text company and industry reports.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  
      
    Full text articles from business trade journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Wide range of full-text news (newspapers, wire services, transcripts and newsletters), business literature, industry and company information, legal, biographical, and reference resources.
  • Mint Global
    Mint global, also known as Orbis (which is the earlier interface), contains information on over 35 million companies worldwide, including banks and insurance companies, providing descriptive information, company financials, news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data via two separate interfaces. The Mint global interface has been specifically designed for end user access.
  • OneSource Global Business Browser
    Contains public and private company and industry information on 3 million companies worldwide.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    US and global full-text market research reports covering consumer goods, technology/media and demographics, and industrial markets.
  • eMarketer  
      
    eMarketer provides the information on trends and developments in online marketing and emerging media.
  • Forrester : marketing leadership Forrester research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. For access to this database, contact Karen Gilles kgilles@seattleu.edu
  • Passport GMID  
      
    Formerly Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    The GMID contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers for over 350 markets and 207 countries.

Good Portal Sites

  • CEO Express from Brint.com
  • Everything International
    Established by Russow (Philadelphia U), has a current site with brief link annotations. Portal is divided into 10 categories: Country and Regional Data, Education, Megasites, Travel, Classification Systems, Inter. Orgs, Industry data, Market Entry.
  • Business Without Borders
    The three main sections 1) Topics (covers managing, negotiating, human resources, etc) 2 industries (22 sectors) and 3) Resources (country guides, financial/research reports). Material on site provided by HSBC Bank.

Your Librarian is....

Profile Image
Karen Gilles and her dog Eddie
Contact Info
Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons
(206) 296-6226 RM 277
Send Email

Other Guides

 

Get Research Help!

Enable JavaScript to chat with a research staff member from Seattle U.

How to Start an Import/Export Business

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip