Skip to Main Content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

English & Literature

This is a Research Guide for doing literary research.

Literary Award Winners


The Pulitzer Prize is a US award for achievement in the fields of journalism, drama, music, and literature. Previous winners for literature include Harper Lee, Alice Walker, Philip Roth, and Tennessee Williams. 

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is awarded to the year's best works published by American citizens.

The Nobel Prize is an international award with broad categories that include chemistry, medicine, peace, and literature. Previous American winners for literature include Toni Morrison, William Faulkner, John Steinbeck and Ernest Hemingway.

The National Book Award celebrates four individual books each year in nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and literature for young people. 

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades. Each year, the prize is awarded to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK. 

The Anisfield-Wolf Awards recognize books "that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and human diversity". 

See also the Film Award Winners in our collection.

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Student Engagement Librarian