Skip to Main Content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

Animal Physiology

Searching Databases for Animal Physiology

The goal of thispage is to orient you to some of the skills and resources that will be the most helpful for navigating finding an article for your Physiology Research Paper Talk. This is a review of the information covered in the library session.

You may have learned these skills and resources in a previous class! If that's true for you, then this is a chance to refresh your memory. It is worth skimming over the content in this page to prepare for finding sources for your paper. 

This guide is composed of four main sections, with brief descriptions and links to more in depth resources. Aside from this guide there are two other resources I would recommend you explore. 

Searching in Databases

The library subscribes to many different databases, and these different databases have different types of sources and different disciplines. For your class, the most useful types of databases are interdisciplinary databases and disciplinary databases.

For your Physiology Research Paper Talk, I recommend you use disciplinary databases. Some useful ones are highlighted below. 

Finally, there are search engines that are not databases and are not a part of the library subscriptions. The most common one of these is Google Scholar. Google Scholar can be a great tool for finding new articles, but I recommend making sure that you connect Google Scholar to the library catalog to help locate the full text of articles. 

Commonalities between databases

While library databases differ in content and appearance, there are similarities you can look for to make navigating a new-to-you database easier! 

Filters will let you manipulate your search results. You can manipulate results to be the "most relevant" first, or by date, or other criteria.

For several of the databases you can narrow to scholarly or peer reviewed sources only. If you are interested in the differences between scholarly and popular sources, see the Research Toolkit. 

Many of the databases will direct you to the full text of the article. Look for links that say "find full text" although this link will look different in different databases.

Here are a couple examples of what this link could look like.

Three icons that read left to right. The first reads "search for full text" the second reads "search for full text at SU" and the third reads "links"

The following video shows how to use BIOSIS and access an article. The video is 1 minute 25 seconds long and has no sound. 

Some databases have unique filters that can be hard to find. PubMed is a biomedical database, but you can limit results to non-human animals. 

The library doesn't subscribe to all journals available. If you find an article in a journal that we don't subscribe to, you can request the article from InterLibrary Loan and we borrow it for you from another library! Right now items are taking a bit longer than usual to arrive, but we often are able to get an article for you in a couple of days. 

Help with citations

Citations and references are an important part of writing your paper, as you're building your research on the work of others. However, there are a lot of tools available to help you! 

There are also tools called citation managers that take 95% of the detail work out of creating references! I strongly encourage you to investigate one of them. 

Research Help

This page is designed to be a helpful guide through the best resources and tips to help you with your paper. However you can always reach out to your librarian for more help! Contact information - and the ability to schedule a one-on-one research appointment - is in the right hand column.

You can also contact librarians who specialize in other subjects through the below channels: 

Get Research Help

chat loading...