Anthropology Databases
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Online brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window15 of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, and Anthropology and Education Quarterly, plus archive of all AAA journals.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed.
Best Places to Start - Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 13,300 periodicals, including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers and books.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 5,000 titlesover 3,500 in full text. It features a mix of interdisciplinary scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for full text scholarly journal articles in history, economics, education, philosophy, literature, African studies, Asian studies, African American studies, sociology, political science, science, and psychology.
Other Useful Databases
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowComplete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Indian histories and cultures. This link opens in a new windowPrimary source materials (including manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books) providing insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDiscover more than two centuries of North American indigenous journalism with this major digital resource.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials Plus This link opens in a new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS )combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS contains a more than 450 full text titles, including all ATLASerials (ATLAS) titles and content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new windowGSD includes content from Women Studies International, Mens Studies and LGBT scholarship from a variety of sources including links to carefully selected website.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistoric coverage of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450. Citations and abstracts from 1954 to the present. Includes links to JSTOR and ProjectMUSE. (For research on the U.S. and Canada, use America: History and Life.)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, dissertations and reports in the field of psychology and other related fields.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new windowRefWorks is a powerful online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies. With RefWorks you can:
Create your own database of references
Export references from article databases and from the Web
Collaborate with others
Generate citations and bibliographies
Use a Word plug-in to format your citations and bibliography as you write
RefWorks is available to all SU users through the Library's online subscription.
To access the legacy RefWorks interface, use this link.
Legacy RefWorks will be shut down on June 30, 2023.
For assistance migrating your citations from Legacy RefWorks to
modern RefWorks, email askalibrarian@seattleu.edu. - Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts in a wide range of interdisciplinary fields including addiction studies, anthropology, criminal justice, economics, public administration, geography, political science, and sociology
- SocINDEX with/Full Text This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
Get Research Help
chat loading...
