Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

New at Lemieux! News and Updates at the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons

Fall 2021 Dean's Welcome

by Lydia Bello on 2021-09-22T11:34:02-07:00 | Comments

 

Photo of a person with short hair next to text that reads "Sarah Barbara Watstein Dean Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons"        Welcome to the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons!

In its placement and prominence, status as both destination and hub, physical and virtual spaces, resources, collections, and integrated services, the library conveys its integral role in supporting Seattle University’s mission, vision, and Strategic Directions. Library Faculty, staff, Student Peer Research Consultants, and student workers are here for YOU!

As the information environment, higher education and Seattle University have changed and evolved through recent years, the library has forged pathways to serve faculty and students more effectively. The pivot to online teaching and learning in Spring Quarter ’20 provided the library with an opportunity to demonstrate its commitment to inclusive excellence through a variety of strategies to improve access and affordability for our students. During the 2021/2022 academic year, we will continue to provide many of our services online while at the same time resuming onsite operations.

Using our web site, you can browse and access our digital collections, view guides and e-reserve materials for courses. We are continually expanding our digital collections to provide more eBooks and streaming media. Our print and media collections are available onsite or request for pickup.   Request of digital scans of Article and Book Chapters is also an option. You can also request materials from other libraries using Summit or interlibrary loan or have materials mailed to you if you live farther away. You can also check out technology using this service.

You can ask a librarian or student consultant for assistance and set up virtual or in-person research consultations via our 24/7 chat service, or in-person at our reopened iDesk.  For more information, please visit our Ask a Librarian page. The library also provides integrated information literacy training for courses across the University.  Your class may visit the library to learn more about searching and finding information using our resources, and tips and tricks for navigating the complexities of the information environment.

We are especially excited to open the doors to the Billodue Makerspace in the Jim and Janet Sinegal Center for Science and Innovation. Supporting multidisciplinary learning across all aspects of the university, the Billodue Makerspace is a destination where students - often alongside staff, faculty, and mentors - can create, problem solve, and develop skills, talents, thinking, and intellectual rigor.

The library is a member of the Orbis Cascade Alliance a consortium serving academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest. Comprised of 37 member institutions, the Alliance provides access to extensive book and journal collections, a shared collection of electronic books, courier delivery to member libraries, and digital collections.

Effective September 20th, 2021, in line with the University's expanding in-person classes and services, the library will be opening expanded service hours for the Fall Quarter.

Building Hours and Access

  • Mon – Thurs:  7:30 a.m. – 11 p.m.
  • Friday: 7:30 a.m. – 6 p.m.
  • Sat. 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
  • Sun 1 p.m. – 9 p.m.
  • 24/7 study space available

Campus Card Required for Entry

  • Monday – Friday, 6:00 p.m. – 7:30 a.m.
  • Saturday – Sunday, All day

We have made changes to our operations to safeguard both your health as well as the health of our staff. The University’s COVID-19 response provides information about Fall opening; weekly updates help the campus community keep up with the latest public health recommendations and requirements and their impact on business and operations. Face coverings are required in the library.

The library is committed to ensuring that, whether you visit us on campus or are learning online, you’ll have access to the high-quality physical and virtual spaces, resources, collections, and integrated services you require to be successful.

Library faculty, staff, and student workers wish you a happy and productive Fall Quarter and look forward to assisting you both virtually and in person.

Stay safe and be well!

Sarah Barbara Watstein

Dean, Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons

Office of the Dean


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



Citation Manager Workshop
Citation managers are tools that you can use to store, organize, and create citations. Find out more about a workshop for getting started with these tools!
Citation Index and Journal Metrics Pilot
Learn more about the two citation citations indices and journal metric resources being piloted during the 2021-2022 academic year.
Fall 2021 Dean's Welcome
A Welcome Message from Sarah Barbara Watstein, Dean, Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons.
Fall 2021 Library Hours
Library hours for Fall Quarter 2021.
2021 Inclusive Excellence Summer Reading List
Explore a Summer Reading List developed by the Office of Diversity and Inclusion and the Library.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...