Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

New at Lemieux! News and Updates at the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons

Library Collections and Resources Honoring Black History

by Caitlin Plovnick on 2021-02-10T16:08:00-08:00 | Comments

For more information, recommendations, and a complete list of Seattle University events honoring Black History, see https://www.seattleu.edu/diversity/honoring-black-history/

Reading Lists – books available through Lemieux Library

Office of Diversity & Inclusion Summer Reading Lists

Racial Justice Reads

Primary Sources and Scholarship – databases available through Lemieux Library

African American Communities –  presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories

Oxford African American Studies Center – presents images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps, and articles by top scholars in the field

Race Relations in America – documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, showcasing speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced in 1943-1970 by Fisk University Race Relations Department staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall

Web Portals – Black History archives and reference centers available on the web

History Makers Digital Archive – extensive video oral history collection

BlackPast – comprehensive reference center

The African-American Mosaic – Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black history and culture


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Recent Posts



Libraries join in solidarity with the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) in recognizing and condemning anti-Asian hate crimes
On March 11, the American Library Association Executive Board issued a statement in support of the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association's recent press release condemning anti-Asian violence. The full Executive Board statement follows...
Library Hours and Services Update
Library hours and services for Spring Break and Easter Break
Borrow Technology from the Library
Chromebooks and multimedia equipment are available to borrow from Lemieux Library
Library Collections and Resources Honoring Black History
Explore books, databases and resource guides collecting texts, primary sources and scholarship honoring Black History
New Ways to Request and Renew
Seattle University faculty, students, and staff now have more options for requesting and renewing materials.  

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...