Skip to Main Content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

Borrowing

A guide to borrowing items from Lemieux Library, Summit and InterLibrary Loan

Visiting the Lemieux Library

All visitors to the Lemieux Library & McGoldrick Learning Commons who abide by our Access to the library and Expectations of Library Users policies, may make use of our facility in the manner outlined in those documents. Please see the boxes below for details of privileges and services for each user group.

 

Services for Seattle U Alumni

Welcome SU Alumni!

In addition to visitors' access to the library, we are pleased to offer a variety of additional library services to Seattle University alumni. These services include: borrowing Lemieux library books, journals, and media, access to Special Collections, and basic research assistance. An Alumni Borrowing Account does not give borrowers access to licensed online resources (ebooks, articles, databases, streaming audio and video, etc.).

Getting Started
  • Request an Alumni Borrowing Account

    • A Circulation staff member will contact you when your account is ready to use.
    • When you are ready borrow materials, please bring a photo ID to the 3rd floor Circulation Desk.
    • Special note for Law School Alumni; an Alumni account does not get you access to any Law library resources such as access to borrowing physical items or access to specific Law library databases.  Law school alumni can gain access to physical law library by first emailing LawReference@seattleu.edu or calling  206-398-4225.
Limitations
  • Alumni do not have access to: Interlibrary Loan, Summit, computer labs, or printers and copiers.
  • Alumni cannot place holds or requests for books and media. 
  • Due to vendor restrictions, remote access to library-licensed databases subscriptions is only available for current students, faculty or staff.
  • SU alumni do not have access to the SU Law Library.
  • Access to the Library between 6p.m.-7:30a.m. Monday-Friday, all weekend, and Holiday hours is exclusive to current SU students, faculty, and staff with a valid SU Campus Card. Alumni, guest borrowers, and campus visitors without a current SU Campus Card are welcome to visit Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons Monday - Fridays 7:30a.m -6p.m.. More information can be found on our Study Space libguide.  For any building access questions please contact Aaron Morgan, Manager, Access Services  at morgana@seattleu.edu or call 206-296-6233
Questions?

Contact libcirc@seattleu.edu and receive a response within 24-48 hours.

Visit the Alumni Office to learn about other benefits, events, and professional development opportunities for SU alumni.

Other Types of Guests

Summit Visiting Patrons

Any Student, Faculty, or Staff from another Alliance Member Library is entitled to the same rights when they walk into a library as they are when they are at their home Library. However they must be verified.

Patrons requesting visiting patron privileges and or requests to pick up at a different member Library must physically visit the library in person in order to be verified.

Patrons will need to bring their ID (University, College, State Issued) and must be able to log in to their home Library account.

Find the Orbis Cascade Alliance member library nearest you.

In order to maintain our reciprocal on-site borrowing program, staff at each Alliance library will need to verify that the visiting patron is a current student, faculty, or staff at a Summit library, and then enter a patron record for the visiting patron into their own patron databases. We call this "adopting" each other's Summit-eligible patrons.

Calling other libraries to verify patrons is difficult given the various hours of operation, levels of library staff working Circulation desks, busy phone lines, etc. This "workaround" is an efficient way for Alliance libraries to determine eligibility for Visiting Patron service: we will ask the visiting patron to log into their home library accounts at the circulation desk, and from there the staff member can see the patron's address on record, the patron's User Group, and the patron record's expiration date.

Affiliate Faculty and Jesuit Passport Program

SU Colleges, Schools and Departments may sponsor guest accounts for visiting faculty members. Courtesy Faculty Affiliate Appointment Requests must be submitted to the Faculty Services office, not to the library.

The Jesuit Library Passport provides on-site borrowing privileges for faculty at any Jesuit University Library in the United States. Please see Jesuit Library Passport for eligibility and protocols.

Sponsored Guests

SU Faculty and staff may sponsor guest accounts for volunteers, members of visiting programs or conferences, etc. Arrangements must be made in advance, sponsors please contact the Lemieux Library Circulation Desk at 206-296-6233 or email libcirc@seattleu.edu to request access for a guest.

Community Guests

While Seattle University is a private institution, users who are not affiliated with Seattle University are allowed limited access to the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons building and services as community guests. Building access to the Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons is restricted during specified times of day to current Seattle University faculty, staff, and students with a valid Seattle University campus card. Please see the library's hours page for more information about hours of access for community guests. Community guests can access, but not check out, items in the library's physical collection located on floors three through five. Community guests can access the University's guest wi-fi through their personal devices and use a selected number of library-licensed databases at the two walk-up alumni and visitor workstations located on the second floor of the library. A list of the databases accessible on these terminals can be made available on request. Research assistance for guests is available from the second-floor Information Desk and includes basic instruction in the use of the catalog and databases via our visitors' workstations, and brief answers to research questions during on-call hours. Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons features attractive study spaces available throughout the building. Group study rooms are available to visitors on a walk-up basis if there is no preexisting reservation. Visitors may also use the microfilm and book scanners located in the third floor computer lab. Community guests and other visitors do not have access to lab computers, printers, or copiers located in the library.

Alumni and Guest Borrowing Policies

Alumni can check out up to six items at any time from the general collection. No renewals are allowed.

  • Books are loaned for 6 weeks
  • Media (DVD/VHS/CD) and periodicals are loaned for 6 days

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Library