Gifts and Donations
The library is not currently accepting donations of large print book collections. Single book titles are considered on a case-by-case basis if the content is relevant to the curriculum. While donated items have the potential to enhance collections they also present challenges for library storage capacity and availability of staff to process them. The Coordinator, Collection Development is the first point of contact for all potential donations and may collaborate with subject liaison librarians in determining final disposition.
Potential gift items :
- Support the university’s current and evolving curriculum academic disciplines
- Fill gaps to enhance or provide depth to current subject collections.
- Support archival collections of university history memorabilia, photographs student clubs
- Contribute to existing or new special collections
Materials Generally Considered Inappropriate:
- Materials that are not in good physical condition, e.g., contain mold or mildew, torn pages, extensive highlighting, stains, and/or water damage. These are potentially harmful to existing collections.
- Materials that require significant restoration, conservation or unique storage, unless accompanied by appropriate funding or by permission of the Library Dean.
- Gifts with donor restrictions that will negatively affect the use of the materials.
- Textbooks and workbooks will be evaluated on a case by case basis to determine their long term value for the library’s overall collection.
- Popular fiction paperbacks.
- All print journals, unless they fill necessary gaps from a highly selective title list (e.g. Alliance DPR)
- Outdated, superseded content or editions.
- Outdated media formats such as LPs, audio cassettes, VHS etc.
- Sheet music vocal or instrumental, songbooks
- Photo copies/facsimiles of original materials
- Unsolicited materials received by mail
Gift materials not added to the collection will be turned over to a commercial book vendor that specializes in finding viable users online; or identifies an appropriate recycling venue. Inappropriate or damaged books will be discarded.
Process for Consideration and Disposition of Gift Books:
- All donors should fill out a copy of the Donor Agreement Form for any items donated to the library.
- For larger donations to be considered, the donor is advised to provide a description and a list of titles before the gift can be considered. In the absence of such documentation, the Library is not responsible for creating a list for the donor.
- Gifts delivered to the library without prior arrangement should be forwarded to the Coordinator, Collection Development with an accompanying Donor Agreement Form/Flag.
- The Library will determine the classification, housing and circulation policies for all accepted gift items. Donors are advised of the library practice of integrating books into the existing general collection and that donated collection are not kept intact in a specially designated area of the library.
- The Library retains the right to dispose of any unneeded materials as it sees fit. Only under special circumstances and if arranged in advance will items be returned to the donor at the donor’s expense.
- IRS Publication No. 561 "Determining the Value of Donated Property". Since tax laws change frequently, library staff cannot appraise the value of gift materials nor can the library pay for or arranging for appraisals. Donors may have independent professional appraisals performed for especially valuable gifts. It is advisable that donors seek professional tax or estate counsel prior to making a gift.