Skip to Main Content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

Direct linking to Library resources

Directions for creating links to library databases, resources, and articles.

Linking to Databases

See below for instructions on linking to items and searches in frequently used database platforms including Ebscohost, ProQuest, JSTOR, and Project Muse

Linking to specific articles (Ebsco)

Find the article with full-text in the database (i.e. Academic Search Complete, Philosopher's Index, MLA International Bibliography).

1) In the "Tools" list on the right side, click on the link "Permalink".

2) Copy the entire link that pops up in the "Permalink" box just above the article's information.

3) Paste this link within your class.

  • For EBSCO  there will be one less step than the other databases because the proxy link is already inlcuded within the permalink.  Therefore, there is no need to copy the proxy link and add it to the permalink as explained on the Direct Linking tab. 

Linking to search results and articles (EbscoHost)

If you want to share a link to a search result in a specific database, you can get that link by using the "Alert/Save/Share" function.

For example, you could ask students to compare the top 10 results for a health care related topic in a nursing database and a philosophy database to evaluate how different disciplines investigate the same topic differently.  Or what % of the search results are helpful/relevant in reponding to a question.

Linking to Specific Articles (ProQuest)

To share a link directly to an article on the ProQuest Platform:

  1. Search for article within the journal.
  2. Click on the article title (not the link to PDF full text).
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the screen.
  4. Copy the Document URL.
  • For ProQuest there will be one less step than the other databases because the proxy link is already inlcuded within the Doculment URL. Therefore,  there is no need to copy the proxy link and add it to the URL as explained on the Direct Linking tab. 

Document URL

This URL can be safely shared on- and off-campus.

Linking to search results and articles (ProQuest)

Proquest search URLs are bookmarkable. They contain within themselves the information necessary to re-run a search. To share a search result URL, copy and paste the URL from the search bar.

capture5.4

NOTE: If you are on campus when searching Proquest databases, the URL you share will only work from on campus. To enable off-campus searchers to use your link, add this http://proxy.seattleu.edu:2048/login?url= to the front of the URL.

 

Linking to a specific article in JSTOR

JSTOR makes it easy to share a stable link to a resource.

  1. A stable URL to the specific article you’re using – unique to each article - can be found on each record page
  2. Copy that link, and use it in Canvas, email, etc. to direct someone to the article with no need for searching
  3. They will be required to login with their SU credentials to see the resource

Here’s an example from JSTOR of the stable URL for a specific article.

Example for above articlehttp://www.jstor.org.proxy.seattleu.edu/stable/20683377

 

Linking to articles in Project Muse

Creating the link for a Project Muse article has two parts.

      1) Find the article with full-text in Project Muse.

      2) Copy the entire link from the URL box.

      3) Paste this link within your class.

For Project Muse there will be one less step than the other databases because the proxy link is already inlcuded within the permalink.  Therefore, there is no need to copy the proxy link and add it to the permalink as explained on the Direct Linking tab. 

 A persistent link to a Project Muse article will look similar to this: 

https://muse-jhu-edu.proxy.seattleu.edu/journals/lion_and_the_unicorn/v012/12.2.moss.html

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Welcome

Profile Photo
Lemieux Library
Contact:
206-296-6230