Skip to main content
Lemieux Library

Theology & Religious Studies -Getting Started

Find resources on the Bible, Catholic studies, and world religions.

Citing a Bible Verse

In APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles, you do NOT need to include the Bible in your bibliography (the same is true for most ancient texts). However, when quoting the Bible directly in your paper, include an in-text citation appropriate to the citation style you are using.

APA

Include an in-text citation with the book, chapter and verse. The first time you cite the Bible in your paper, also include the name of the translation you are using. For following citations that use the same version, cite only book, chapter, and verse.

EX: First Citation: "The cords of death encompassed me; the torrents of destruction assailed me" (Psalm 18:4, English Standard Version). 

MLA

Include an in-text citation with the book, chapter and verse. The first time you cite the Bible in your paper, also include the name of the translation you are using, and italicize that title. For following citations that use the same version, cite only book, chapter, and verse.

EX: "Jesus replied, 'No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God." (New International Version, Luke 9:62)

Chicago 

In footnotes, include the book name (abbreviated), chapter, and verse. 

EX: Dt. 13:9, 14:2-8

Find more detailed information about citing the Bible in Chicago Style, including lists of book abbreviations, from Grove City College.

APA. American Psychological Association

APA Basic Citation Anatomy

apa-anatomy

APA citation style is used in nursing, social sciences, education, psychology.

A citation style which uses parentheses in text (author-date) instead of footnotes or endnotes, this format is popular in those disciplines where the date of the work, its currency, is significant to the reading of the text. Sources are listed at the end of the text in a section called References.

Reference List
Includes only those works which were cited in the text. Alphabetical listing. Author’s name is abbreviated, initials are given instead of the first name. The date follows. Source information in included in the citation, as well as the page numbers. For an internet source, add the retrieval date and the URL.

Reference List examples:

Books
Kidner, J. (1972). The Kidner report: A statistical look at bureaucracy at the
            paper clip and stapler level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books

Articles from a print journal
Heydt-Stevenson, J. (2000). "Slipping into the ha-ha”: Bawdy humor and body
            politics in Jane Austen’s novels. Nineteenth-Century Literature, 55 (3), 309-340.

Journal article from a library database with a DOI
Heydt-Stevenson, J.(2000). "Slipping into the ha-ha:" Bawdy humor and body politics in

         Jane Austen's novels. Nineteenth Century Literature 55 (3),314.
         doi:10.1525/incl.2000.55.3.01pol464 l.2000.55

Journal article from a library database with no DOI
Banoff, S. I. (1994, June). Turkeys and chickens fear IRS audits. Journal of
         Taxation
, p.380.Retrieved  from Proquest Research Library database. 

Internet source - APA requires a URL at the end of Internet citations
Avery, S., & Masciadrelli, J. (2003, April) Peep research: A study of small fluffy
            creatures and library usage. April 2003. 

            Retrieved from http://www.millikin.edu/staley/fluff/peep_research.html

 

A note on DOIs (Digital Object Identifier)
A Digital Object Identifier is a unique code assigned to articles and other documents. APA requires the use of DOIs in citations, if the article has been assigned one. Some databases will have the DOI in the article record, some pdf's may also have the DOI. Go also to the journal website; you may find the DOI for the article there. If your searching results in no DOI, then include at end of the Article citation Retrieved from [source] database (name of database).

MLA (Modern Language Association) Documentation

MLA uses the author’s last name and a page reference parenthetically placed in the text rather than footnotes or endnotes. Unlike APA, which is used in subject areas where the timeliness of the information is often critical, disciplines which use MLA can often cite works which are not current. Sources listed at the end of the text are in a section called Works Cited.

Works Cited

Books
Kidner, John. The Kidner Report: a Satirical Look at Bureaucracy at the
      Paper Clip and Stapler Level. Washington, D.C.: Acropolis Books, 1971.
Articles
Heydt-Stevenson, Jill. “Slipping into the Ha-Ha”: Bawdy Humor and Body
     Politics in Jane Austen’s Novels.” Nineteenth Century Literature 55 (3)
     (2000): 309-340. (Journal Article)

How do you cite an internet source?

(Remember standards are still evolving)


Author / Editor. Title of Homepage. Publication date, Publisher. Medium. Date of access.

Avery, Susan and Jennifer Masciadrelli. Peep Research: A study of small fluffy
     creatures and library usage. April 2003. Office of Fluffy Research, Staley      Library, Millikin University. June 2003. Web. 21 Nov. 2009.

For more information:

Check these sites for additional examples on how to use MLA:

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Mary Linden Sepulveda

Mary Sepulveda's picture
Mary Sepulveda
Contact:
206.296.6209

Coordinator of Collection Development

and Special Collections