Library Catalog Guide Descriptive Text for Images

Image of the Library Catalog search bar on the library home page. Below the search bar are radio buttons (filters) that allow patrons to narrow down/refine information found in searches as well as some important links. Some of these are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• SU Libraries, Summit, and Articles: Search SU Libraries, Summit, and Articles to perform a general search for items available at this library and in databases. This is the catalog's default search option.
• Lemieux Library: Search Lemieux Library for print and electronic items only available at this library
• Lemieux Periodicals: Search Lemieux Periodicals for journals, magazines and other periodicals owned by the Lemieux Library
• Advanced Search: Advanced Search will take you to a search screen with advanced options for sorting and narrowing results.
• Library Account: Library Account allows you to sign in and access SU-restricted items like databases, view borrowed items, renew items, pay fines and much more! 
• Course Reserves: Course Reserves allows you to search for items on reserve for your courses. 

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of a record for a sample Reserves item. Some parts of the item record are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• Availability information: where the item can be picked up, how long it is available for check out and call number
• The Details tab provides more information about the item. Scroll to the bottom for Course Information
• Course Information: course number, course title and instructor name

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of a sample item record in the catalog with information about how to request it from Summit. Some parts of the item record are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• After you sign in to your Library Account you can request books from Summit. To place a request first select Find & Request.
• Select the red Request From Summit (about 5 days) button and complete the form to submit your request

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of a sample item record in the catalog with information about how to request it from Libraries Worldwide. Some parts of the item record are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• After you sign in to your Library Account you can request books from Libraries Worldwide. To place a request first select Find & Request.
• Choose Request this from another library (1-2 weeks) to submit your request through Interlibrary Loan.

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of the Advanced Search screen and a list of results from a keyword search on 'science'. Under the field for Material Type the option for Journals has been selected. Under the field for Search Scope the option for Lemieux Library has been selected. Some parts of the item record are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• On the Advanced Search screen type in a journal title or keyword
• Change Material Type to Journals (or other periodical format)
• Change search scope to Lemieux Library or leave on SU Libraries, Summit, and Articles
• Results 1 and 2 show two options for the journal Science:
  • ​Print copy located on the 5th floor in Lemieux Library
  • Online version accessible via library databases. Select Availability to see database links.

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of the Library Catalog search bar on the library home page. Below the search bar are radio buttons (filters) that allow patrons to narrow down/refine information found in searches as well as some important links. The link for Library Account is labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• Log into your Library Account to access information about checked out items and fines/fees or to renew items. 

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of a list of active loans in a sample library account. The option to 'Renew All' is at the top of the list highlighted with a red circle. When you click on this option, all items in the list (highlighted with a red bracket) are automatically renewed.   

Click to view a larger version of the image

Image of a list of active loans in a sample library account.  If you wish to renew only selected items in the list, you will click on the checkboxes next to these items (examples are highlighted with a red bracket). The option to 'Renew Selected' is at the top of the list highlighted with a red circle. When you click on this option, selected items in the list are automatically renewed. 

Click to view a larger version of the image

Image of a list of items requested in a sample library account. Some parts of the image are labeled with an interactive orange light bulb icon that you can mouse over to get more information. Additional information includes:

• Click on Requests to see the status of the items you have requested. The number in parentheses tells you how many items you have requested.
• Status: Check on your item's Status here
• You can cancel the request under Actions

In the upper right corner of the image is a larger grey circle icon with white arrows pointing in four directions that allows you to click to view a larger version of the image.

Image of the Fines/Fees section in a sample library account. It includes a List of Fines as well as a Fines Balance. 

Click to view a larger version of the image