Skip to Main Content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

Citation Manager: Zotero

Create Bibliographies

It’s easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

  • Select the references or collections you want to include.
  • Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
  • Choose the bibliographic style you want, and select the output format: Save as RTF or HTML, copy to clipboard or print. (The RTF file format is compatible with all word processors.)

Or you can drag and drop references from Zotero into your document and they will turn into fully formatted citations. This works with any word processor including Google Docs. Change the default style under Preferences on the “gear” menu.

Create In Text Citations

The word processing plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to either Microsoft Word or Google Docs that allows you to add formatted citations to your document while you write.

Zotero Ribbon in MS Word with icons for add/edit citation, add/edit bibliography, document preferences, refresh, and unlink citations

Top pane of Google Docs, with a drop down menu with options for add/edit citation, add/edit bibliography, document preference, refresh, and unlink citations

To add a citation, select "Add/Edit citation" on the toolbar. Select the reference you want to cite and click OK. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

Search bar with drop down menu below with the word zotero showing many options

At the end of your paper, “Insert Bibliography." Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles under "Document Preferences."

Using Zotero in MS Word

If you are using an older version of MS Word on a Mac, the Zotero Toolbar is located in different places depending on your operating system. 

  • If you’re using MS Word 2016 for Mac, the Zotero Toolbar is found in the Add Ons tab.
  • If you’re using MS Word 2011 for Mac, you’ll need to make your Zotero toolbar visible by enabling it through the “View” menu.
  • If you are using MS Word 2008 for Mac, then Zotero is installed in the script menu (to the right of the Help menu at the top of the screen).
  • The Zotero Toolbar is located at the end of the regular toolbar in Google Docs

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Library