Lemieux Library Guides: Funding Resources: Funding Databases and Directories

Office of Sponsored Projects

Seattle University's Office of Sponsored Projects (OSP) coordinates the application for and management of funding granted for the purpose of carrying out a particular activity, such as scholarly research or a creative endeavor (a "sponsored project").

Faculty and staff seeking funding from an external source for a sponsored project must consult with and receive approval from OSP prior to submitting any proposal or application for external funding. For more information about the sponsored project application process or to discuss a planned submission, please contact OSP for additional information.

Multidisciplinary Funding Databases and Directories

GrantForward
Extensive database of funding opportunities for academic researchers that enables detailed filtering of search results. Create an account using your Seattle University email address to set up customized alerts and receive personalized recommendations. Access provided by Seattle University's Office of Sponsored Projects.

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
This database, available online with Seattle University login credentials or at designated computer terminals within Lemieux Library, compiles information on grantmaking organizations, including private, corporate, government, and international sources. Search by keyword to identify funders relevant to your project or use the advanced search fields to review awards made by a specific organization.

Duke University Research Funding Database
Duke University maintains an extensive database of research funding opportunities, most of which are relevant to faculty working at any institution. The 'Advanced Search' option allows filtering by discipline, eligibility criteria, and deadline.
GrantStation
GrantStation's databases are accessible to Seattle University users through the Chronicle of Philanthropy. Click 'Grants' at the top of the linked page and then the blue button to access GrantStation. Use the 'Find Grantmakers' tab to search grantmaking organizations in the U.S., Canada, and overseas.
University of Iowa Grant Bulletin
The University of Iowa frequently updates this database of current funding opportunities, most of which are relevant to faculty working at any institution. The sidebar menu allows for easy sorting of opportunities by subject area.
UC Berkeley List of Funding Opportunities for New and Young Faculty
UC Berkeley has compiled a helpful list of opportunities for early career faculty at any institution. Many target the sciences, but the directory also includes opportunities for social science and humanities researchers.
UC Berkeley List of Funding Opportunities for Women and Minorities
This list, maintained by UC Berkeley but relevant to faculty anywhere, collects funding options from both government and non-government sources that benefit women and minority researchers.
American Philosophical Society Research Grant Program
The American Philosophical Society supports research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences through a variety of grant programs that fund specific research or travel expenses.
American Association of University Women Funding and Awards
The AAUW offers a variety of awards, including grants that fund community action projects and publication grants that support women researchers preparing their research for publication.
Fulbright Scholar Program
The Fulbright Scholar Program offers the opportunity to engage in research, teaching, or other professional work overseas. Awards are open to faculty, administrators, and professionals in a wide variety of disciplines and can be used in more than 125 countries.

Arts and Humanities Funding Directories

H-Net Funding Announcements
H-Net, an organization of social science and humanities scholars and teachers, compiles announcements of current funding opportunities on an ongoing basis.
University of Kansas Humanities Funding Resources
The University of Kansas provides a variety of lists and resources for humanities funding, including options specifically related to creative writing and digital humanities projects.
Arts Deadlines List
The Arts Deadlines List publishes announcements of arts funding opportunities and competitions across all arts disciplines.
University of Iowa Directory of Arts and Humanities Funding
The University of Iowa's list of arts and humanities funding includes grant opportunities as well as a variety of residency and publishing programs.
Williams College Directory of Humanities Grants
Williams College has compiled a directory of funding opportunities for faculty at any institution working in the humanities, including options for research, travel, and residential fellowship programs.
American Council of Learned Societies
ALCS offers numerous funding opportunities in the humanities and social sciences, particularly for early career researchers.
American Historical Association Grants and Fellowships
The AHA offers numerous grants and fellowships for research and professional travel to those in history-related fields.
Boston University Directory of Humanities Fellowships and Grants
Boston University maintains an extensive list of humanities funding opportunities subdivided by discipline, level, and project type.

Social Sciences Funding Directories

Williams College Directory of Social Science Grants
Williams College has compiled a directory of funding opportunities for faculty at any institution working in the social sciences, including options for research, travel, and residential fellowship programs.
H-Net Funding Announcements
H-Net, an organization of social science and humanities scholars and teachers, compiles announcements of current funding opportunities on an ongoing basis.
American Economic Association - Funding and Grants
The American Economic Association maintains an extensive list of funding opportunities relevant to those in economics and related social science fields.
American Psychological Association Directory of Grants, Awards and Funding
The APA has compiled a large database of funding available for psychological and related research, including its own grant programs and many awards provided by other funding sources.
American Council of Learned Societies
ALCS offers numerous funding opportunities in the humanities and social sciences, particularly for early career researchers.

Science and Engineering Funding Directories

Williams College Directory of Science and Mathematics Grants
Williams College has compiled a directory of funding opportunities for faculty at any institution working in the sciences or mathematics, including awards for research, travel, and equipment costs.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine Funding Opportunities
The National Academies offer funding programs for researchers in any phase of their career, including opportunities in nursing, engineering, and the sciences.
American Mathematical Society Opportunities Database
The American Mathematical Society curates a database of mathematics-related fellowships and awards.
Science Magazine Funding Page
The well-known journal Science provides a list of resources for seeking science research funding, as well as helpful guidance on the application process.
American Chemical Society Grants and Fellowships
ACS offers funding for individual faculty and larger research teams conducting scientific research.