Skip to main content
Lemieux Library

UCOR 1400: Gender and Power in Ancient Greece (FQ 20)

Assignment

Annotated Bibliography

Assignment 
The goal is to join some scholars in their ongoing conversation about gender and power in one specific Ancient Greek text. For this part of the project, we’re going to take stock and listen to part of that conversation. You might expand on something from our syllabus, or you might engage with a scholarly conversation about gender & power in another Ancient Greek text.

Details and Requirements 

  • Annotated bibliographies must center around one Ancient Greek text.
  • The bibliography should list full bibliographic information for 2-4 sources from peer-reviewed academic journals or books from a relevant scholarly field (History, Classics,Philosophy, Women & Gender Studies, Literary Studies).
  • For each scholarly source, students must provide at least 150 words explaining some key features of the scholarly text and its potential relevance to the project.
  • Please turn in annotated bibliographies on Canvas.
  • Please feel free to write in the first person.

Use the resources in this guide to find scholarly journals articles or books related to your topics.

  • Use one of the databases (Philosopher's Index, MLA Bibliography, JSTOR or Gender Studies) and create some searches for your topic.  
    OR
  • Use of the "Starter Searches".  These searches are set up to search Philosopher's Index, MLA Bibliography and Gender Studies simultaneously.  There is a "starter" keyword search to give you some ideas but modify one of these for your own topic.
    OR
  • Check out the curated lists of books or find other books using the library catalog.

Citation Styles

Bibliographies

Chose the citation style you want to use, but bibliographies must include these pieces of information:

If the work is a journal article or book chapter:

  • Author
  • Title of article
  • Title of journal or book
  • Volume number (if applicable)
  • Year
  • Page numbers of the article or chapter

​​​​​​​For example:

Brown, Wendy. “‘Supposing Truth Were aWoman...’: Plato’s Subversion of Masculine Discourse,” in ​PoliticalTheory​ 16 (1988). 594-616.

If the work is a book:

  • Author
  • Title of book
  • Publisher
  • Year

​​​​​​​For example:
Blondell, Ruby. ​Helen of Troy: Beauty,Myth, Devastation​. New York and Oxford: Oxford UniversityPress, 2013.

 

For more citation information and examples, see The Research Toolkit: Citing Sources ​