From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,000 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Full text of scholarly journals representing most major academic disciplines including 24 of the top journals in Public Policy and Administration. Access from first issue to within 3-5 years of present.
Citations and abstracts for nonprofit literature from the Foundation Center covering philanthropy, fundraising, nonprofit management and leadership and other topics. It indexes over 100 periodicals and selectively covers news publications, videos, books, etc. Serves as the Foundation Center's catalog. Limited fulltext.
Other Databases to try
Working on a topic which may require the use of specialized discipline databases.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the premiere index for the nursing literature. It provides indexing for more than 2,700 journals with full text for more than 300 journals. Also covers alternative and complementary medicine, biomedicine, diagnostic ultrasound, gerontology, and public health.
Created by the National Library of Medicine and freely available via the internet and international in scope. It comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from biology, medicine, nursing, and life sciences journals as well as journals from many other fields. Citations may include links to full text content. (To order an article not owned by SU, work from the full PubMed article record. Click on the SU Full Text Search button in the upper right corner of the screen to find an interlibrary loan request form.)
?Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole
A comprehensive sociology research database with coverage of not only sociology, but also anthropology, criminal justice, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, social psychology, social work, substance abuse and other areas. It provides indexing for more than 600 journals with full text available for more than 300 journals.
Indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals. Full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
For grantseekers, current information on grantmakers and their grants. Database provides access to over 250,000 990s, 80,000 grants as well as news, requests for proposals, key staff affiliations, printable color charts illustrating grant distributions, and more. (Seattle U's licensing agreement for this database allows for use by the general public. Guests may access the content using designated computers on the second floor.)
Register for a free account. Access to basic information. Information on the activities and finances of more than 650,000 charities and nonprofit organizations. Features a database searchable by name, keyword, mission, geographic location and revenue range. Library does not have an institutional subscription.
by Rick Block
Last Updated Jan 25, 2023
371 views this year
Why consult a reference title? Reference articles are usually written for experts in the field. The articles often include citations by other academics familiar with the topic and can offer an additional stream of research for you to investigate.