Library Services for Faculty
- Faculty Resources - general overview of Lemieux Library faculty resources and research support services on our website
- Course Reserves - materials from the library's general collection or brought in by faculty for use as supplements to their classes
- The Librarian provides course-integrated instructional support for classes or one-on-one/small group consultations.
- All sessions focus on the promotion of information literacy and research skills/concepts as applied to specific course outcomes or research assignments. Instruction is modeled on the ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards for Nursing.*
- Instruction can be provided both face-to-face or online. Check out the Library Resources in Canvas page for more information about ways that library instruction can be integrated into in Canvas.
*Adopted by the Association of College and Research Libraries in 2013
Requesting Purchase of New Materials
- Books, eBooks, Physical Media (CDs, DVDs, etc.)*
- Send library materials requests directly to the Faculty Liaisons to the Library
- All requests should include:
- Any links/research done on the source
- Information about the program/class the resource supports
- When the item is needed (e.g. Winter Quarter class)
*It is not our current policy to purchase individual textbooks for the library's collections
- Databases, Journals and Streaming Media
- All requests should go to the Faculty Liaisons (with a Cc to the Nursing Librarian)
- Big ticket items need to be prioritized with other requests from CON committees or individual faculty/staff
- The Faculty Liaisons will work with the Nursing Librarian to prioritize each request as appropriate.
- Our Databases can be found on the Nursing Research Guide's Articles page. We have big research powerhouses like CINAHL & PubMed. We also have more specialized resources including:
- Cochrane Library – systematic reviews, EBP research on interventions
- LexiComp Online – drug and drug interaction info. as well as medical reference
- Clinical Key – reference materials, EBP, patient education, streaming training videos and more
- UpToDate – evidence based medical reference, patient education materials, etc.
- ...and more!
- Several collections of electronic textbooks and nursing/medical reference manuals can be found on the Nursing Research Guide's Books & eBooks page.
- New Titles (both electronic and print) can be found here - this list will be updated quarterly.
Multimedia Collections (streaming video, images, etc.)
Several collections of medical images as well as streaming video on medical procedures, nursing education and other types of training can be found on the Nursing Research Guide's Visual Materials page, including:
- Librarian: Caitlin Plovnick
- Faculty Liaisons: Sujeong Kim (CON), Karin Asimakopoulos (DIUS)