Skip to main content
Lemieux Library
Lemieux Library

Article & Book Chapter Scanning

Information on Lemieux Library Articl and Book Chapter Scanning Service

ARTICLE & BOOK CHAPTER SCANNING

What is this service?

Request digital scans of small portions of Lemieux Library owned physical items such as book chapters and journal articles for personal use.

Faculty needing scans for electronic course reserve should refer to updated Course Reserve LibGuide for additional information.

 

Who can use it?

Available to Seattle University faculty, graduate students, undergraduates, and staff.

Seattle University Law School faculty, students, and staff will need to place an ILL Request through the Law Library.
 

How long does it take?

Scan requests should take 3-5 business days.
 

Questions?

Read our FAQ below.   If you still have questions please email Resource Sharing Staff for assistance.  

FAQ FOR SCAN REQUESTS

Are there limits of how much can be scanned?

Staff will scan limited portions of copyrighted material in accordance with Seattle University's Guidelines Relating to Classroom Copying:

  • A chapter of a book
  • An article from a periodical or newspaper
  • A short story, short essay, or short poem
  • A chart, graph, diagram, cartoon, or picture from a book, periodical, or newspaper

The Lemieux Library reserves the right to refuse to accept a scan request if, in its judgement, fulfillment of the request would involve violation of copyright law.   The library will not scan a complete book or journal issue. 

If you request a larger portion of the source material then we can scan, we will refer you to Access Services for borrowing options, including onsite, Contactless, and Borrow and Return by Mail 

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of the photocopies or other reproductions of the copyright materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, library and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than in private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. The Lemieux Library reserves the right to refuse to accept a copy request if, in its judgment, fulfillment of that request would involve violation of copyright law.

How do I make a scan request?

There are two ways to make requests:

  • Search PRIMO and use the "Request a scanned chapter" or "Request a scanned article" link in the title record to complete and submit a form.  Your request will be sent to ILLiad.  (First time users will be asked to fill out a brief registration form before making a request.)
  • Log in directly to ILLiad and fill out a New Request using either the Article or Book Chapter form.  (First time users will be asked to fill out a brief registration form before making a request.)

To help us expedite your request:

  • Please submit one article or one chapter per form.
  • Remember to check PRIMO for online availability before submitting your form.  Many articles and books are already available electronically.  If we receive a request already available we will refer you to the electronic version.
     

Where do I get my scans?

  • Scan requests should take 3-5 business days. .
  • An email will be sent to you when the scan is available to download from your ILLiad account.  Scans are available for 30 days.
  • Requests from books and journals not available from the collection (i.e., missing from shelves or checked out) will be requested from another library through Interlibrary Loan and may take longer to receive. 
     

What is the quality of the scans?

Scans are 200-300 dpi PDFs in back and white or grayscale.  Color images may be possible depending on content.  We will scan as legible as possible depending on the condition of the source.   If you notice any problems with your document, such as missing pages, or illegibility, please reply to the notification email or email Resource Sharing Staff.
 

What is not available to scan through this service?

  • Materials not owned by the Lemieux Library including Summit, interlibrary loan, and course reserves including personal faculty copies.
  • Faculty needing scans for electronic course reserve should refer to updated Course Reserve LibGuide for additional information. 
     

What about Special Collections & Archives?

Please email Mary Sepulveda, Coordinator of Collection Development and Special Collections to request a scan of items located in Special Collections and Archives.  All requests are handled on a case by case basis.  Scanning may not be available due to copyright restrictions and / or the physical condition of the material. 
 

Questions?

If you have any questions or problems using this service please email Research Services Staff.  

Get Research Help

chat loading...

Welcome

Profile Photo
Lemieux Library
Contact:
206-296-6230