Skip to main content
Lemieux Library

UCOR 1100: The Value of Work (FQ 20)

Library Research for your Exploratory Paper

The research process involves knowing how and where to look for sources. The goal of this page is to be a reminder of many of the skills and resources that will be the most helpful in writing your final paper.

This is a tool to remind yourself of what you can use and what you can do. 

This guide is composed of four main sections, with brief descriptions and links to more in depth resources. Aside from this guide there are two other resources I would recommend you refer to over the course of the quarter. 

Some notes about searching

Before you search for sources, take a moment to brainstorm keywords. Different researchers can use different language for the same topic, or there might be broader or more specific terms that you might want to use. Be aware of broader terms, narrower terms, synonyms, and related terms while searching. If you want to know more about this idea, you can find more in the Research Toolkit.

As a note: you do not have to have a perfect set of search terms when starting your research! Research is an iterative process and as you search you will find more and more keywords. The more you search the more you learn. 

Searching in Databases

The library subscribes to many different databases, and these different databases have different types of sources and different disciplines. For your class, the most useful types of databases are interdisciplinary databases and disciplinary databases.

Interdisciplinary databases cover all sorts of topics - biology, history, art, ecology and more. They are great starting points, and they are the databases we used in class. You can find more about how to use these databases on our Library Toolkit.

Here are the databases we used in class: 

Finally, there are search engines that are not databases and are not a part of the library subscriptions. in class we used Google Scholar. Google Scholar can be a great tool for finding new articles, but I recommend making sure that you connect Google Scholar to the library catalog to help locate the full text of articles. 

Commonalities between databases

While library databases differ in content and appearance, there are similarities you can look for to make navigating a new-to-you database easier! 

Filters will let you manipulate your search results. You can manipulate results to be the "most relevant" first, or by date, or other criteria.

For several of the databases you can narrow to scholarly or peer reviewed sources only. If you are interested in the differences between scholarly and popular sources, see the Research Toolkit. 

Many of the databases will direct you to the full text of the article. Look for links that say "find full text" although this link will look different in different databases.

Here are a couple examples of what this link could look like.

Three icons that read left to right. The first reads "search for full text" the second reads "search for full text at SU" and the third reads "links"

The library doesn't subscribe to all journals available. If you find an article in a journal that we don't subscribe to, you can request the article from InterLibrary Loan and we borrow it for you from another library! 

Help with citations

Citations and references are an important part of writing your paper, as you're building your research on the work of others. However, there are a lot of tools available to help you! 

There are also tools called citation managers that take 95% of the detail work out of creating references! I strongly encourage you to investigate one of them. 

Research Help

This page is designed to be a helpful guide through the best resources and tips to help you with your paper. However you can always reach out to your librarian for more help! Contact information - and the ability to schedule a one-on-one research appointment - is in the right hand column.

You can also contact librarians who specialize in other subjects through the below channels: 

Get Research Help

chat loading...